Original Nestle® Toll House® Chocolate Chip Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2002
Classic recipe! One trick to prevent the cookies from being crisp and flat, mix in a small package of instant vanilla pudding to the batter before adding the chips.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
702 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2004
HERE'S HOW TO MAKE THE PERFECT COOKIE: First off, make sure the eggs and butter are at room temperature before using. Big difference. Second, add 2 heaping tsp. of vanilla. Third, add 1.5 tsp. of cinnamon. Add the nuts or don't. HAND MIX EVERYTHING AT THE VERY END. Seems like the majority of the time, these recipes call for too much mixing! If you've taken forever to do this, set it in the refrigerator for 10 minutes. Bake for the 9 minutes. Put the remaining dough back in fridge. Very easy and you will have everyone in your house loving you. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
635 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Joy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: May 3, 2005
This has been the recipe my family has used since I was little, however when it came time for me to make them they always came out flat. By suggestion of my sister in law what I did was used Baking Poweder instead of Baking soda, split the butter with 1/2 crisco butter and 1/2 sweet unsalted butter, doubled the vanilla, and used just 1/4 cup of white sugar and made the rest light brown sugar. I also beat the butters and sugars with my electric beater and slowly added the eggs. Oh and last but not least a packet of instant vanilla pudding just before I added the chips. End result, awesome cookies that were so thick I had to pre-flatten them before going in the oven!! Really thick and chewy.... P.S. I decreased the amount of sugar because with the instant pudding if you don't decrease the sugar it will be a little too sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
374 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2002
This is my family's absolute favorite cookie. I always double the recipe and keep the dough handy in my freezer. I do have a few recommendations: 1) Use only half the amount of salt. 2) Use half butter and half margarine instead of all butter. Otherwise, the cookie may turn out too flat. 3) Try refrigerating or even freezing the cookie dough before baking. That will also help the cookie to be less flat. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
142 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2010
I didn't have any flour, so I used breadcrumbs. I hate salt, so I put in chili powder. Butter is fattening--I substituted unflavored gelatin. I didn't have chocolate chips either, so I used ground beef. DELISH YOU HAVE TO TRY THEM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
126 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rachxl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2002
My favourite chocolate chip cookie - they turn out moist and chewy. I use slightly less nuts, underbake by about a minute to ensure maximum chewiness, and refrigerate the batter for about 15 minutes prior to baking. Great cookie!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
93 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2011
Apologies to all you 5-star-givers out there, but there is something wrong with this recipe. The batter liquifies during baking, resulting in cookies that are paper-thin and unappetizing. I am more than willing to try the many suggestions for improvement available on many websites, but why doesn't Nabisco correct this recipe? I'm a very good cook and baker, and these cookies are thinner than anything I have ever baked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
73 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2006
Hi, I'm from germany. Since I was an exchange student in Canada I just love chocolate chip cookies. I always was disappointed when I bought some at the coffee shop, they just didn't taste like "mom's". So I decided to bake some on my own and found - after comparing with other 5 stars recipies - this recipie. The cookies turned out just great and were realy jummy. I left out the nuts and added 4 tabelspoon of cocoa. We don't have vanilla extraxt here in germany so I used two packets of vanilla sugar. I also mixed the flour, baking soda, salt, cocoa and the chocolate chips in a bag. I put the dough in the fridge for 30 minutes before baking. I also droped the dough with an tabelspoon on a cold baking sheet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
72 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Magdeburg, Sachsen-Anhalt, Germany
Living In: Dresden, Sachsen, Germany

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2004
How could this ever be rated below a 5? :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
59 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RogueOnion8

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Vancouver, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2002
This is the only recipe I have ever used and I constantly have people ask me for it and comment on how great they are. It helps to use less salt, about half. Also, I use butter flavored Crisco and it makes them moist and they stay soft for days!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
59 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 531) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Chocolate Chocolate Chip Cookies I

See how to make the chocolate lover’s chocolate chip cookie.

No Cholesterol Chocolate Chip Cookies

These amazing cookies are good for the heart AND for the taste buds.

Best Chocolate Chip Cookies

See how to bake the perfect chocolate chip cookie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States