Original Nestle® Toll House® Chocolate Chip Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2013
I reduced the butter to one stick as recommended by another reviewer. These turned out great! They weren't flat or greasy. I was thrilled with the results! A little less guilt when eating 2 instead of just one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2013
I have been using recipe for years and it is by far the BEST! I first made them when I was in High School and have never found another recipe that is as good. My family absolutely loves them. To ensure a soft chewey cookie know your oven's temperature. And watch the time. Usually best to remove from the oven when they just start to brown.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Shrewsbury, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Frisco, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2013
Good job on all the ingrediants! My great-great-Grandma is the original woman who came up with this. we own the actual recipe, but we gave it to the world!--Such a gift!! (And of course, I rated it 5 stars, LOVED IT. Because old granny was such a good cook, but I think a little gaga when it comes to anything else)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2013
What is so interesting about so many chocolate chip cookie recipes is how they have been revised to take out the baking POWDER out of the recipe, and how they have been modified to fit the 'harried' housewife (like me!). Nestle, perhaps in an attempt to sell more chips or make it 'easier' on the cook, adapted the recipe to where there is no 'rest' period for the dough. Originally, the Toll House cookie dough was supposed to be refrigerated 24 hours. Why? To let the egg 'soak' into the batter. It produces a superior cookie, but if you let it sit for 36 hours, it is truly terrific. Try it! You'll see a better looking cookie as well as a great taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by zestychef

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Northridge, California, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2013
This has been a family classic...but I accidentally discovered a new way to do it. I prefer to use butter instead of the margarine, and one time changed my mind (mid-process) from a half batch to full batch, and so only used half the butter, but the same amount of all the other ingredients. I also only use brown sugar to get a chewier batch, and they turned out perfectly! No more flat cookies that look like they melted all over the place, and no more "hollow" cookies where the insides were left all over the spatula.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2013
I have noticed many of the readers here have had trouble with this recipe - the main thing is that both the butter and eggs must be at room temp - neither should be cool to the touch before mixing. Also some of you are having trouble with the sugar not melting it calls for packed sugar so if there are in lumps in your sugar it will not mix correctly. Do not make super big cookies they will puff up also leave in the pan for about 5 minutes then transfer to a cooling rack this will flatten them out. Even thou the recipe does not call for it sift your dry ingredients. Also use a medium sppon do not try to make gaint cookies medium size comes out better also I cook mine at least 10 mintues. Hope this helps.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2013
Classic! Just awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2012
I've always got compliments on my chocolate chip cookies, wanting to know what I do different. The only thing I do different is use Crisco shortening instead of butter and I chill the dough before I bake them, putting it back in the fridge in between batches. I always have thicker cookies, I dont like the flat spread out crispy cookies the butter makes them to be.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2012
A very classic chocolate chip cookie recipe that works. I usually omit the nuts. To really up the wow factor of this cookie, use kosher/coarse sea salt. Add an extra 1/2 tsp and you will taste a hint of salt in the cookie, which enhances the chocolate flavor. It's a favorite of friends and family alike.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tinya

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New York, New York, USA
Living In: Troy, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2012
The cookies I grew up with! I love them flat and crispy. I like to make them with white chocolate chips, cran raisins, and pecans. It's the perfect cookie for those rare occasions that I don't want chocolate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 532) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Chocolate Chocolate Chip Cookies I

See how to make the chocolate lover’s chocolate chip cookie.

No Cholesterol Chocolate Chip Cookies

These amazing cookies are good for the heart AND for the taste buds.

Best Chocolate Chip Cookies

See how to bake the perfect chocolate chip cookie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States