Original Nestle® Toll House® Chocolate Chip Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2013
Good job on all the ingrediants! My great-great-Grandma is the original woman who came up with this. we own the actual recipe, but we gave it to the world!--Such a gift!! (And of course, I rated it 5 stars, LOVED IT. Because old granny was such a good cook, but I think a little gaga when it comes to anything else)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2013
What is so interesting about so many chocolate chip cookie recipes is how they have been revised to take out the baking POWDER out of the recipe, and how they have been modified to fit the 'harried' housewife (like me!). Nestle, perhaps in an attempt to sell more chips or make it 'easier' on the cook, adapted the recipe to where there is no 'rest' period for the dough. Originally, the Toll House cookie dough was supposed to be refrigerated 24 hours. Why? To let the egg 'soak' into the batter. It produces a superior cookie, but if you let it sit for 36 hours, it is truly terrific. Try it! You'll see a better looking cookie as well as a great taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by zestychef

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Northridge, California, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2013
This has been a family classic...but I accidentally discovered a new way to do it. I prefer to use butter instead of the margarine, and one time changed my mind (mid-process) from a half batch to full batch, and so only used half the butter, but the same amount of all the other ingredients. I also only use brown sugar to get a chewier batch, and they turned out perfectly! No more flat cookies that look like they melted all over the place, and no more "hollow" cookies where the insides were left all over the spatula.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2013
I have noticed many of the readers here have had trouble with this recipe - the main thing is that both the butter and eggs must be at room temp - neither should be cool to the touch before mixing. Also some of you are having trouble with the sugar not melting it calls for packed sugar so if there are in lumps in your sugar it will not mix correctly. Do not make super big cookies they will puff up also leave in the pan for about 5 minutes then transfer to a cooling rack this will flatten them out. Even thou the recipe does not call for it sift your dry ingredients. Also use a medium sppon do not try to make gaint cookies medium size comes out better also I cook mine at least 10 mintues. Hope this helps.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2013
Classic! Just awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2012
I've always got compliments on my chocolate chip cookies, wanting to know what I do different. The only thing I do different is use Crisco shortening instead of butter and I chill the dough before I bake them, putting it back in the fridge in between batches. I always have thicker cookies, I dont like the flat spread out crispy cookies the butter makes them to be.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2012
A very classic chocolate chip cookie recipe that works. I usually omit the nuts. To really up the wow factor of this cookie, use kosher/coarse sea salt. Add an extra 1/2 tsp and you will taste a hint of salt in the cookie, which enhances the chocolate flavor. It's a favorite of friends and family alike.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tinya

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New York, New York, USA
Living In: Troy, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2012
The cookies I grew up with! I love them flat and crispy. I like to make them with white chocolate chips, cran raisins, and pecans. It's the perfect cookie for those rare occasions that I don't want chocolate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2012
this recipe has been in our family for 4 generations.....however, about 40 years ago, we (me and my kids)omitted the salt and used self rising flower instead of all purpose flower.....resulting in cookies that puff up while baking, but deflate when cool becoming chewy on the inside... we liked them better that way. Also, to the person whose batter "liquified".....do NOT melt the butter!!! doesn't work!!!.....bring to room temperature...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2012
AMAZING! I used mini chocolate chips and filled the centers with Nutella Hazelnut Spread- they were gone in 5 seconds! The cookies baked very evenly and were soft in the center and crispy on the ends. Also, they weren't too sweet, and more savory, which made them perfect for being paired with the Nutella!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 61-70 (of 530) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Chocolate Chocolate Chip Cookies I

See how to make the chocolate lover’s chocolate chip cookie.

No Cholesterol Chocolate Chip Cookies

These amazing cookies are good for the heart AND for the taste buds.

Best Chocolate Chip Cookies

See how to bake the perfect chocolate chip cookie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States