Original Nestle® Toll House® Chocolate Chip Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2014
I've been using this recipe for years and my family loves it. Cookies are best pulled from the oven before they are golden. Warm, gooey goodness! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2014
I've made these cookies for years and my grandmother before me. These are perfect if you follow the recipe correctly providing for differences in (oven thermostats and altitude of course.) If you want to try some of the additions and substitutions there's nothing wrong with that of course. That said these turn perfect as is. I do chill the dough before baking and keep in fridge in between batches. Other than that the only thing I ever change is the nuts. Sometimes I feel like some nuts sometimes I don't.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SAllen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Erie, Kansas, USA
Living In: Tyler, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2014
Yes, these do tend to flatten. Having been through this recipe from memory about 25 times, and altering it 50+ times, here's how I figured out how to avoid the meltdown: Use an electric mixer and over-mix the butter/sugar/vanilla . Use big, fresh eggs. I get the jumbo, mostly for the bigger yolks. Mix up your eggs before adding them. Use fresh baking soda (I don't know why, but it helps). Use a silpat or an air-insulated baking sheet, or heat the oven with the broiler and turn it to bake a couple of minutes into the baking time; they melt from the bottom up. Scrimp a tablespoon or so off the butter. Pack in the flour. They are too sweet. I've found substituting a nice smoky scotch for the vanilla brings out a saltiness the vanilla buries.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by dlskitchen
Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2014
I apologize if this appears twice! tried to upload pic; I have used the recipe on the nestle pkg for years and for the last few, my cookies have begun to turn out flat and crunchy when they used to be soft and thick; I keep following the directions to no avail. I'm going to try adding flour, and if that doesn't work, the refrigerating/room temp. I don't understand what has changed EXCEPT, I remember 30 yrs ago I thought the recipe called for 1/2 shortening, 1/2 butter?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hagerstown, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Ten phish
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2014
The ONLY chocolate chip cookie recipe we will EVER use!! I only bake for 8mins. I bake 2 trays at a time and alternate racks at 4mins.So soft and PERFECT!! Don't over cook. As soon as they have golden edges, pull them!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2013
Original Nestle® Toll House® Chocolate Chip Cookies Are the Best! Just add extra flour if you don't like your cookie flat. I add extra flour until I get a thick dough. YUMMM!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2013
these cookies are pretty average.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cambridge, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2013
First off I have to say this recipe is amazingly delicious and very very very easy to make! From the recipe above I got about 3 dozen cookies but some of mine turned out pretty big so that's an error on my part! I didn't have room temperature butter, so I threw it in the microwave for a couple of seconds flipping it to make it soft and that was great! The batter comes out really fluffy and nothing like what you'd buy at the store but don't be discouraged! Take a small spoon and drop it onto the baking sheet and they will spread out just fine, though they will look like they are running/gooey! But have no fear they'll cook just fine! I cooked mine a little longer than the 9 to 11 minutes the recipe called for because they didn't cook as fast as that, I found that 10 to 12 minutes gave me soft cookies, and about 12 to 14 minutes gave me the crunchy but still delicious and not burnt cookie I was looking for. I tried to thicken up the batter by putting it in the fridge but that didn't work too well, but you could always add a little but more flour if you don't want a really fluffy batter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2013
Went exactly according to the recipe baked 11min and these turned out perfect! I'm bringing them to a holiday party tomorrow, so happy with the turn out!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2013
I use this recipe all of the time. There is nothing wrong with the recipe. The cookies, and the batter consistency, depend on if your butter is melted. You must use soft, room temp butter that is not melted and you must mix it adding the flour mixture gradually.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 531) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Chocolate Chocolate Chip Cookies I

See how to make the chocolate lover’s chocolate chip cookie.

No Cholesterol Chocolate Chip Cookies

These amazing cookies are good for the heart AND for the taste buds.

Best Chocolate Chip Cookies

See how to bake the perfect chocolate chip cookie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States