Original Nestle® Toll House Chocolate Chip Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 30, 2015
I consistently only get 3 dozen cookies. I think these taste best when you use salted butter. Also, I often need to add 1/2-2/3 cup of flour to the dough before making the cookies. This cookie recipe wipes the floor with all the others.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Pittsford, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Anitra Ford
Reviewed: May 17, 2015
I used egual exchange semi-sweet chocolates chips instead of nestle. They taste just the same!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anitra Ford

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2015
What can I say, I love this recipe. My Mom made these for us all the time growing up and it's the first cookie I ever learned to make. I'm 36 and still making them. I don't change anything except leave out the nuts and chill the dough for a couple of hours. When I don't chill it they tend to flatten out more than I prefer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Mahra Matanza Lamorena
Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2015
I followed everything in this recipe except I took the suggestion of using crisco butter instead of regular butter. Everything turned out perfect! Tasted just like Nestlé toll house cookies! No refrigeration needed. Made the dough and Baked it at 375 for 11mins. They didn't turn out flat at all!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2015
This is a classic recipe. I have found that the key to greatly improve this recipe is to add at least 1/2 cup more flour (or even more) at the end of mixing the dough so it's really stiff - before adding the chips and nuts. Sounds counter-intuitive, but adding more flour makes for cookies that are not flat, and they stay deliciously soft and chewy over time. Agree with other reviewers: Use real butter and real vanilla.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2015
PERFECT!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2015
I didn't have enough chips and I didn't have time to go to the store so I chopped up the ones I did have and they spread nicely throughout the batter. I think I just might do this every time from now on because they tasted wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Makenna Payne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Farmington, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2015
This is probably my favorite cookie recipe of all time. I usually add 1/2 cup coconut and that make them nice and soft. I also take 3/4 cup oats and grind them. They make the cookies have a slightly chewy techture which I crave! I make them for my parents who always give me complements. I would recommend this recipe for any one who has never tried it. Yummmm!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by musiclover20011

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lewiston, Idaho, USA
Living In: Greenleaf, Idaho, USA
Photo by taychow
Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2014
These cookies are so good. I tried the "best chocolate chip cookie" recipe here and they turned out awful despite the 4.5 star recipe. They are crispier and denser. I rested my dough for 18 hours to get better flavour and used more white sugar for a crispier and more spread out cookie. love these.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2014
A great standard
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 106) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Jumbo Dark Chocolate Cookies

These dark chocolate cookies will double your chocolate delight.

Sweet and Salty Nestlé Toll House(R) Cookies

Satisfy your cravings for salty and sweet in one quick-and-easy cookie!

White Chip Orange Cookies

These 5-star Christmas cookies have tantalizing vanilla and orange flavors.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States