Original Kumla Recipe from Mom Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2014
Kumla has been a family tradition all my life. MY KUMLA SECRETS: Secret #1: Yukon Gold potatoes are generally the best. Reds and Russets can be used but frequently contain more water than the Yukons. Secret #2: I special ordered a coarse head for the Kitchenaid grinder which I prefer over the standard grinder head. Grind the potatoes into a collander sitting inside a larger bowl to catch the potato water run-off. The better you drain the potatoes the better the Kumla but move fast. Secret #3: Substitue Onion Salt for salt. The addition of onion flavor to a potato dish is so obvious most people overlook it. If salt is your enemy, use granulated onion. You can also grind fresh onion or shallots into the potatoes but its difficult to get uniform distribution. Secret #4: Mix the baking powder into the flour in a mixing bowl while both are still dry to get uniform distribution. Secret #5: Add melted butter in a quantity you are comfortable with while mixing the batch. I use half a stick. Distribute it evenly. Secret #6: Use nitrile or other good quality sanitary gloves while mixing the dough with your hands. Sprinkle with the onion salt during this process. Secret #7: Use a wide enough pan for cooking to avoid having to "stack" the Kumla balls. Turn them with a slotted spoon during cooking for uniformity. Secret #8: Choose a cooking temperature that allows you to cover the Kumla for the first half hour without boiling over. It makes for a much better finished product. Trust me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Roger Wisted

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Shabbona, Illinois, USA
Living In: Solvang, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2013
We make Kumla twice a year as a family. My Mom has always used a meat grinder to grind the potatoes. We peel, and quarter the potato, then put it through the meat grinder. It extrudes excess water from the potato. Much easier than using a grater. I could eat Kumla once a month at least. And, you must have BUTTER....not margarine. I'm seriously thinking I have to make some real soon. YUM !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2013
WE love these! We usually make 10 lbs of potatoes because they are so good and we love to have the leftovers
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HONEYBEZ

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2013
Been looking for a good Kumla recipe. Used to love having these when I was younger. Only thing I changed was no bacon, we always used the ham in the kumla so being that is what I'm used to I stuck to that. Also added ham bouillon to water while boiling ham and no other seasonings for more ham flavor. I did like the potatoes being shredded better than the mashed I had grown up with. Overall great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stephanie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Des Moines, Iowa, USA
Living In: Cedar Rapids, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Diona Thompson
Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2012
My daughter made Kumla for the first time(15yr old) using this recipe and the Kumla came out perfect! Taste just like her Norwegian grandmas Kumla!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Diona Thompson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dunedin, Florida, USA
Living In: Lakewood, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2010
Great recipe, just like my grandma use to make:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2010
This was a treat when I was a kid. The only difference is that I use a ham hock that has been smoked and no need to add any salt with the broth. I like to dip my hands in cold water before I make the potatoe ball. The piece of bacon in the center adds great flavor. The left overs are the best sliced and fried in a little bit of butter. Real comfort food. Always have loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Buckley, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2010
I recommend serving them with lingonberry jam on the side, and a dollop of butter. Thats how we eat them in Sweden, where they are called kroppkaka..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Breakfast Pizza from Pillsbury®

Wake up to a delicious breakfast pizza topped with eggs and bacon.

Red Beans and Rice from Hillshire Farm®

Bring a taste of the bayou to your table in just minutes.

Original Homemade Italian Beef

Make tender, delicious, slightly spicy Italian beef in your slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States