Original Irish Cream Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: May 28, 2014
I love Irish cream but I don't like the calories that come with it, so I decided I would try to make my own slightly healthier version. I used fat-free half & half and fat-free sweetened condensed milk. I thought I had instant coffee but turned out not to so I used instant espresso instead - it was fine but I think next time I'll add a little less. I've been sipping on this for a few days now and gave it to some company tonight, they said they prefer it to Bailey's (which they find too sweet)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AMBERLE3

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada
Reviewed: May 16, 2014
I didn't use the almond, simply because I don't have that on hand in my pantry. The rest of the recipe I use exactly and it turns out great every time. It is much cheaper than buying Bailey's.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2014
Loved the recipe WITH the changes noted by other reviewers. Cut the whiskey down to 7/8 cup. OR, double all ingredients except the whiskey. Also, I make mine several days ahead and let the flavors blend. I leave it in the blender container in the frig and give it a quick blend just before serving. Soooo much better than Baileys. Everyone asks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2014
I tried this with my own homemade chocolate syrup and Jim Beam Kentucky Straight Bourbon Whiskey. The only thing I would change is lowering the amount of alcohol from 1.66 cups to about 1.25 cups. It is meant to be creamy, so I would not change the heavy cream in it at all!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2014
I've been using this recipe for many years. It's very easy and extremely delicious. So many variations, adjust ingredients to suit you. You can use any type of alcohol, more or less chocolate or coffee. I always use can milk instead of heavy cream. Enjoy! It won't last long, too good to leave sitting around. Katie G-S
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bowmanville, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2014
Awesome. The almond makes it taste a tad different than Bailey's, which I like. Great for gifts! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cosmicfuzz

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Bakersfield, California, USA
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2014
HOKULANNI You nailed it! Simply excellent! Better than the bottle at the store!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lageary

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Scranton, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2014
I've made this recipe many times,it is so good My sisters enjoyed it. Keep asking when I'm making again.--Florence
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2014
overall it was fine. the cons: - whisky was too much, it turned out too strong - I am not new in cooking but followed the instruction to beat all in high speed - ended up with cream which turned to almost butter / separated mass - ended up straining - heating that mass a bit to make smooth and back to save all invested products - so every time before serving I had to shake the bottle for some minutes - this was impossible to add to coffee as the cream was bitten to butter and ended up being a fat in coffee cons still the taste was good will make again half portion, but will use less whiskey and will mix the only cream after all the ingredients are incorporated
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Thiternik

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2014
Lucky I read the other reviews ahead of time and added the whiskey a little at a time till it was just right for my taste. Great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JocyCooks

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 411) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Original Irish Cream

See how to make homemade Irish cream liqueur.

Irish Cream Chocolate Cheesecake

Chocolate cheesecake gets a delicious Irish makeover.

Irish Car Bomb

See how to make a stout beer, Irish whiskey, and Bailey’s Irish Cream cocktail.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States