Original Hot Brown Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2015
This is good but should not be called the "original hot brown." The original recipe from the Brown Hotel does not contain milk, egg, or parm cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2015
We liked this very much even tho I forgot the s&p and made it a little bland! I used frozen texas toast and will probably just used thick sliced bread next time. The sauce was VERY rich...and yummy! Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by hopeitsapar2
Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2014
outstanding. have had the original just as good as the Brown Hotel's
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2014
I agree, if you think this is bland, " You ain't doin' it right". I made this for the family of one of my friends. They usually only eat what their dad cooks. He does all their meals. I like to stick with the traditional recipe but, he did make the comment that it could use a little kick. I'll try the cayenne pepper next time or they can add their own. It didn't stop him from eating two helpings. I use two slices of thick smoked turkey and two thick slices of tomato. After I dress everything I go ahead and dole out the rest of the sauce evenly. To avoid bland you MUST salt and pepper the sauce and SKIM MILK you have to be kidding me. This is no diet meal, have a salad and some gluten free bread. I also overheard my friend's 15 yr old daughter ask her little sister if she had tasted this, she hadn't , and the 15 yr old said she should that " it was pretty good". If you knew this kid that is a great compliment
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2013
I used to work at the "Brown Hotel" and the do one thing right for sure and that is the "Kentucky Hot Brown".. I am going to try...it was very helpful very easy and delicious....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2012
Very good. I love the comforting flavor of a good Hot Brown. Next time I will use a thicker bread. For some reason my grocery does not carry texas toast sized bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Urbana, Ohio, USA
Living In: Aliso Viejo, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2012
A local restaurant serves Hot Browns and we've had them from time to time over the past 15 years or so. I was looking for something to do with our leftovers from Thanksgiving and came upon this recipe. It is excellent and introduced me to allrecipies.com. A number of really good meals have followed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2012
This is really really yummy. Anyone that said it was too bland probably forgot to add the salt and pepper to taste. I also added a dash of cayanne as another reviewer suggested. I used parmesan/romano cheese and used about 7 tablespoons of it instead of 6. Might use more tomato next time because I couldnt taste it much using only one. I also bought cooked roasted turkey breast and used pretty big chunks of turkey on each sandwich.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ilikefrenchies

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2011
Made this for breakfast this morning and it is delicious! This would be a very filling breakfast for a holiday and to feed alot of people. I found that "serves 4" can be stretched farther because there is so much sauce. The only addition I made, based on past experience with this recipe, is grated nutmeg and stirred in about 1/2 cup shredded cheddar to the sauce while adding the salt and pepper to taste. Very good! Would be excellent with ham for those that don't care for turkey.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2011
I did not make this but my sister made it for me. I loved it. She put it on toasted french bread instead of the white bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Rochester, New York, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 32) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet Hot Mustard Chicken Thighs

See how to make baked chicken thighs with a sweet, hot mustard glaze.

Coney Island Hot Dogs

See how to make America’s favorite beefy hot dog condiment.

Salmon with Brown Sugar Glaze

Oven broiled salmon fillets with sweet Dijon mustard sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States