Original Homemade Italian Beef Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2014
Delicious!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2014
We love this recipe, especially my son and the neighborhood kids. I have to triple the recipe to feed them all. I haven't changed an ingredient what so ever as it is delicious just the way it is and very easy. I've made this 3-4 times this year already. Yum! Thank you for sharing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2014
Bad instructions. 5-6 hours on high made the meat very tough and impossible to pull apart with a fork. I will try again using the low setting for 9 hours as other Italian Beef recipes suggest.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michael Chang

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2014
Love this, but I too only added 2 packages of Italian dressing. Perfect!!!! Made this for company and nothing but rave reviews.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2014
I've not had Italian beef before, so I have no idea if this is authentic. Nor do I care, because this recipe is delicious! Like others, I only used two packets of dressing, and I used a bottle of dark beer for the liquid in addition to a bouillon cube. In my opinion, the star of the show is the peppers. They complement the beef and the seasonings perfectly. This one will go into heavy rotation at our house. Thanks for a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dartsnbeer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2014
This was a hit with the whole family, even my five year old. I only used two 0.7 oz packs of the dry Italian dressing mix instead of the 3 1oz packs it called for and I cooked it on low all day instead of high.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2014
I used almost 4 lb of a lean roast, 2 packages of good season Italian dressing mix. I think that was perfect. I used almost a 16 oz jar of peppers and juice (had to save some for those who wanted them fresh on sandwich since I take the cooked peppers out after cooking the beef before I serve it.) I also use a sturdier bun.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Coffeen, Illinois, USA
Living In: Athens, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2014
This nis my go to Italian beef recipe. I throw a beef boullion cube in and some roasted garlic for my taste and I'll top the sandwich with some hors radish and roasted red peppers. Left overs (if there are any) make great Philly cheesestake sandwiches the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Englewood, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2014
I mixed the dry Italian dressing mix with the cup of water before adding it to the slow cooker. My family and I thought this was delicious. I even received a compliment that it was better than a famous chain restaurant's Italian beef sandwich! I was also told this was my son's second favorite meal - second to pizza. Thanks for sharing this wonderful recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2014
I always get asked for this recipe. I now carry a copy (took a picture) on my phone. Easy to send to people on the fly. I too put the whole jar of peppers in there from the beginning. I also substitute beef broth for the water. This is so great to freeze the extra in small containers for a quick fix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amyephelps

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 361) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Original Homemade Italian Beef

Make tender, delicious, slightly spicy Italian beef in your slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Italian Beef for Sandwiches

Make this great Italian beef for sandwiches in your slow cooker.

Italian Beef Sandwiches

See how to make tender Italian beef sandwiches with au jus.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States