Original Homemade Italian Beef Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2012
My husband and I LOVED this! My roast was around 2.7 lbs. and I only used 2 packets of Italian seasoning and added the peppers to taste, no juice. We put provolone cheese on some hoagie buns and broiled them to toast the bread and melt the cheese. We raved about them all through dinner! I served it with a spinach strawberry salad and homemade baked french fries. ALSO: I try to share this secret with as many people as possible - when your meat is ready to be shredded, if you have a stand mixer (kitchen aid, bosch, etc) put your meat in your bowl with your basic paddle attachment and turn it on low. Your meat will be shredded in 20 seconds instead of slaving away with forks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2012
Overall, this was a good base recipe. However, it seems that the peperoncini peppers overpowered the flavor of the end product.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Weyauwega, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: De Pere, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MagicallyDelicious
Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2012
Sooo good. I made a few changes based on a friend's recommendations on how she makes hers. I used one Italian seasoning packet since other reviewers said it was salty. I added part of the jar of pepperocinis at the beginning of cooking then added the rest later to taste. I also cooked it on low for 12 hours. It was like butter. Another friend suggested a rump roast - I'm going to give that a shot next time. The chuck was fantastic though, and I've having trouble giving away the majority that I promised to a friend. Definitely a keep recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MagicallyDelicious

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Champaign, Illinois, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2012
Tasted awesome & was so easy. Double recipe & used two different kinds of roast was great! Used the recipe for Italian dressing mix on this site & only ended up using what was equal to 4 packets only cause I ran out of certain spices. Still was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2012
I love these. Used 1 can beef broth instead of the water and added a little garlic. I added the peppers in at the beginning with some of the juice and all turned out well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2011
I have used this recipe for years....the only thing I do different is I prepare it in a pressure cooker, takes but 25 minutes and is as tender as if you cooked it for hours!Great if you want Italian beef in a hurry! Also I use the juice from the pepperoncini's.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sally Miller

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2011
This was great. I used beer instead of water and put everything in at once, set it on low, and let it cook all day. It was perfect when I got home.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ben

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2011
This was pretty good. I used a package and a half of italian seasoning since I used a smaller roast, there are only 2 of us,but I think it could of handled the full two packages. Very, Very easy to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lcollins

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wichita, Kansas, USA
Living In: Lafayette, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2011
This is my go to recipe. Add a medium onion for added favor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leah Arnold

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Paducah, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Huntsville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2011
This stuff is amazing! Instead of water I used 1 can of beef broth. I also only had 2 packages of italian seasoning so I added about 1/2 cup zesty italian dressing to it. Served it on rolls with swiss cheese. This will be made often! Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SB
Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

Displaying results 81-90 (of 370) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Original Homemade Italian Beef

Make tender, delicious, slightly spicy Italian beef in your slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Italian Beef for Sandwiches

Make this great Italian beef for sandwiches in your slow cooker.

Italian Beef Sandwiches

See how to make tender Italian beef sandwiches with au jus.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States