Original Homemade Italian Beef Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2012
Amazing dish. I added a second jar of peppers the second time I made it because I love the zing they give the beef. I added the peppers in at the beginning though and let them cook all day long with the beef. I I shredded the beef at the end then served with crusty hoagie rolls and a bowl of the juice as au jus. Not too spicy, even for the kids.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2012
We made this recipe on a busy Saturday. It was super simple to put together, and there is no comparison for crock-pot-house-smell. When it was time to eat, we were blown away by the taste. This recipe has earned a spot in our monthly rotation for sure. Changes: Cooked for 7.5 hours on low, high for 30 minutes after shredding and adding peppers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2012
Wow! What a great recipe... Like some suggested I used two packets per every three pounds of meat and it came out perfect. So perfect not a bit was left.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2012
These are excellent! Pop the stems off the peppers to top the sandwiches and it totally takes it to another level! Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SarahStumphf

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Middletown, New York, USA
Living In: Clarksville, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2012
Great and easy recipe - we cook on low for 8+ hours while at work. Fabulous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Coralville, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2012
I make this very similar but I put a jar of Mild Gardiniera instead of the Pepperoncini peppers at the very beginning. (I live in Chgo and don't know if this is available in other parts of the country). I also use beef broth instead of water and only 1 envelope of Italian dressing. I buy a loaf of French bread and cut into sandwich sizes. For anyone who likes a lil spice on their foods, I put Hot Gardiniera on my sandwich. Everyone who has eaten it loves it and I am constantly being asked when will I make it again. This couldn't be any easier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Evelyn Tobias

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2012
i LOVE this recipe!! I've made it several times, so at this point, I have started to make a few adjustments based on my own tastes. I prefer sirloin roast, b/c I hate beef fat. It's usually lean enough, but I trim it if necessary. Instead of water, I use beef broth and red wine. I also add a couple of garlic cloves and a sliced onion to the liquid. I also apread some of the Italian seasoning into the meat before I put it in the crock pot. When it's cooked through, I pull it out and shred it with forks, then put it back in the crock pot and pour in 1/2 of a jar of pepperocinis. When I used a whole jar, the juice was too spicy for me, even though the meat still tasted fantastic. I like the roast aus jus to keep the meat moist. After about 30 mins of additional simmering, it's ready to serve.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ALLIOOP109

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA
Living In: Huntsville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2012
Ok, I've been using allrecipes for several years and I'm too lazy to write reviews, however, this is truly amazing! I chose to use only 2 Italian seasoning packets and a whole jar of Peperincini (sp?) and I've made twice this week. It is amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by fleajs

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Del Mar, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2012
I have made this recipe twice in the last 2 weeks. So good and so easy! When I made it for the kids, I added just the pepperoncinis without the juice and the spiciness was just right. I used less than half a jar. Served on fresh bread with provolone cheese slices. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2012
This was amazing!!! Can't wait to make it again! I cut down and only used 2 packages of the Italian dressing mix. I also added some garlic cloves at the beginning (can't have anything without garlic!). About a 1/4 cup of the pepperocini juice and just a few peppers about half-way through.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Mchenry, Illinois, USA
Living In: Palatine, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 376) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Original Homemade Italian Beef

Make tender, delicious, slightly spicy Italian beef in your slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Italian Beef for Sandwiches

Make this great Italian beef for sandwiches in your slow cooker.

Italian Beef Sandwiches

See how to make tender Italian beef sandwiches with au jus.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States