Original Homemade Italian Beef Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2015
Was awesome but used less dressing because of the salt...big hit
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Syracuse, New York, USA
Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2015
I tried this last week and it was a big hit! I followed the recipe with one slight change. I substituted the 1 cup of water for Beef broth. Spices were perfect. With just the 2 of us, I had some to freeze. My husband is already asking for it again! This is a winner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toronto, Ohio, USA
Living In: Venus, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2015
I used the full amount of Italian salad dressing, and it was perfect for us. Slightly salty, but we like it that way. I also used half of the pepper juice. I added it about halfway through. YUM! Super easy to make as well. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ilikefrenchies

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2015
Like other reviewers, I made a variation of this recipe which my whole family enjoyed: I used two packets of Wish Bone Italian Dressing mix, three beef bouillon cubes, and approx a tsp give or take of oregano, basil, garlic powder, onion powder, salt, and pepper. Brought the water and seasonings to a boil and dissolved bouillon, then poured over meat in crock pot. I set my device to high and after three hours, I cut the meat into approx 1-2 inch slices and submerged them in the liquid at the bottom of the crockpot. After another six hours or so on low, I shredded the beef and returned it to the pot. I set aside enough to feed my younger children, and then added one jar of pepperoncini's, including the liquid, to the meat in the crock pot. The mixture was left uncovered on low heat until served, about 45 minutes. I buttered and toasted hoagie rolls under the broiler. I put the meat on the rolls and topped it with provolone, then slid them back under the broiler to melt the cheese. Served these gems along with steamed beans and a cucumber salad. A new recipe to add to the rotation, everyone loved this meal and it was super easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenn Bunney
Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2015
So delicious and easy! I only used two packs of the Italian Dressing mix and it was salty, but I like salty. Served it on a turano roll. This recipe is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2015
Delicious! I followed the recipe exactly, besides I used 1 cup of beer instead of water. My husband said to add this to our regulars. 5 star for sure :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2015
Super Easy and taste amazing! We live in Chicago so we are very picky about our Italian beef. The only thing I changed was using beef broth instead of water other than that I followed the recipe and everyone raved about how good it was. A must try recipe you will not be disappointed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2015
Best thing by far I have made from this site so far. I was pretty skeptical, but it had almost the exact taste and texture of my favorite Italian beef from back home. I had a slightly smaller piece of meat than the recipe called for, so I reduced the amount of Italian dressing mix and I used half a jar of the peppers and juice, instead of a whole one. I also cooked it on low for about 10 hours, instead of high, just because I think meat comes out more tender that way. Agree with those who have said it's a waste to serve on a hamburger bun. Get yourself a good crusty roll of some kind. I topped mine with some sharp provolone and stuck it in the oven to crisp up the bread and melt the cheese. Fantastic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tina Bradley

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2014
Absolutely delicious!! I put the peppers in at the beginning though. My opinion it tenderizes the meat more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2014
Delicious!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 370) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Original Homemade Italian Beef

Make tender, delicious, slightly spicy Italian beef in your slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Italian Beef for Sandwiches

Make this great Italian beef for sandwiches in your slow cooker.

Italian Beef Sandwiches

See how to make tender Italian beef sandwiches with au jus.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States