Original Homemade Italian Beef Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2014
I used almost 4 lb of a lean roast, 2 packages of good season Italian dressing mix. I think that was perfect. I used almost a 16 oz jar of peppers and juice (had to save some for those who wanted them fresh on sandwich since I take the cooked peppers out after cooking the beef before I serve it.) I also use a sturdier bun.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Coffeen, Illinois, USA
Living In: Athens, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2014
This nis my go to Italian beef recipe. I throw a beef boullion cube in and some roasted garlic for my taste and I'll top the sandwich with some hors radish and roasted red peppers. Left overs (if there are any) make great Philly cheesestake sandwiches the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Englewood, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2014
I mixed the dry Italian dressing mix with the cup of water before adding it to the slow cooker. My family and I thought this was delicious. I even received a compliment that it was better than a famous chain restaurant's Italian beef sandwich! I was also told this was my son's second favorite meal - second to pizza. Thanks for sharing this wonderful recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2014
I always get asked for this recipe. I now carry a copy (took a picture) on my phone. Easy to send to people on the fly. I too put the whole jar of peppers in there from the beginning. I also substitute beef broth for the water. This is so great to freeze the extra in small containers for a quick fix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amyephelps

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2014
I'm really sorry, but this was extremely salty. It smelled wonderful cooking. But after we out it on our buns....couldn't even eat it. Way way too salty. Sorry won't make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NICKI61

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Wolcott, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2014
Easy awesome recipe! My husband is an executive chef, which means I do all the cooking at home, raved and raved about this recipe. I used the 3 packs of dressing mix but my store doesn't sell the pepperonici peppers so I subbed with banana pepper rings (the hot ones) and put it all in together. Thanks for sharing, we will be having it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2014
Used 2pkgs Italian dressing mix, Sam Adams beer instead of water and the entire jar of pepperoncinis 1/2 way through the cooking. Toasted the Italian hoagie rolls, added the shreded beef and slices of Provolone then put under the broiler until the cheese melted. Great, easy recipe and will definately make again! Thank you Randi for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Louisville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2014
Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2014
I've made this for my husband a few times (I am a vegetarian) and he LOVES it. He's used to eating the roast you cook in the crock pot for hours, and season through the day - and he said this is better. I am from Chicago and have seen/smelled a lot of Italian beef. This looks and smells just like the real stuff! This recipe stays on our FAVORITES - recipe made exactly according to the instructions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2014
I was skeptical how this would turn out, with the ingredients. Following other suggestions, (like using the crockpot) I also used a beef bullion cube and beer for the liquid. It was great and we'll be having it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MamacitaTee

Cooking Level: Expert


Displaying results 1-10 (of 355) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Original Homemade Italian Beef

Make tender, delicious, slightly spicy Italian beef in your slow cooker.

Italian Beef Sandwiches

See how to make tender Italian beef sandwiches with au jus.

Slow Cooker Italian Beef for Sandwiches

Make this great Italian beef for sandwiches in your slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States