Original Green Salsa Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2008
Perfect flavor....thanks for this easy recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2010
Didn't have green tomatoes so I only used tomatillos and the salsa still turned out terrific.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2010
This is delicious!!!!! I used everything out of the garden and it was such a better recipe than the others I have tried. I wasn't quite sure about 1/4 cup of garlic powder???? I used a teaspoon and it was plenty. Just perfect proportions and very, very, easy. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HB Sue

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pasadena, California, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2010
So yummy! I added a little lemon to it, and also simmered it a little longer, close to 45 minutes, perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA
Living In: Sandy, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2011
Being in a state where red and green chili is readily available it's hard to find a salsa recipe worthy. This was bland. Not something I would recommend to anyone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tiny72

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hamilton, Ohio, USA
Living In: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2011
This green salsa turned out good and zingy. I used only tomatillos, reduced the garlic as mentioned in other review as well as adding lemon juice that was suggested. I roasted my own jalapenos so it has some heat. I may need to reduce the olive oil. Thanks for the great recipe- it was my first try!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by AcaCandy
Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2011
I used fresh garlic, roasted tomatillos, chiles (along with the garlic) and sub'd fresh lime juice in place of the vinegar. I think 1/2 cup olive oil would be an overkill for this salsa. I just used spray garlic olive oil ontop of everything before roasting. Roast until just slightly charred, then toss everything into the blender with the fresh cilantro. If you like a chunkier salsa, just use the pulse setting instead of pureeing. I also added a splash of honey to take away some of the bitterness of the tomatillos.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AcaCandy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2012
I have a question about this salsa- mine comes out more viscous, gel-like, and the taste is nothing like green salsa, i have to add a bunch of water and salt to make it more runny. also lemon is usually overbearing. I've tried all sorts of things and its usually not bad after customization, but never out of the gate. Im trying something new with adding 1 habanero, an onion and we will see how it goes
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2013
So easy and delicious!! I'd never worked with tomatillos before, so I had no idea what to expect. The salsa turned out slightly sweet and tangy. I added garlic cloves when cooking instead of garlic power, and I left out the oil. I also added a one green pepper and added the shallots and cilantro to the food processor raw (instead of cooking with the salsa). I think it gave it a bit more bite and a fresher taste. Overall, great recipe --- I will definitely make it again! I served it with rice and corn, but honestly, it's so versatile and would go on anything.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Pork Stew in Green Salsa

See how to make an authentic Mexican pork stew in green tomatillo salsa.

Fire-Roasted Cherry Tomato Salsa

See what fire-roasting the tomatoes does for this simple salsa.

How to Make Avocado Tomatillo Salsa

Discover how to make the perfect summer salsa.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States