Original Chex® Party Mix Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Molly
Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2015
Simple and delicious. I've made this 6 times in the past month. Every where I have taken it, I come home with an empty bowl. Very easy to modify to your family's likings. The one change I do make is in the cooking method. I do not use the microwave. Instead, I spread it on a cookie sheet and bake for 1-hour at 250° degrees, stirring every 15 minutes. Cool completely and store in airtight container.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Molly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huntertown, Indiana, USA
Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2015
We made it as is, using the microwave method and it came out perfect. Just make sure you actually take it out and stir it up as directed to avoid burnt pieces.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tina Bradley

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2014
This is NOT the true original Chex Mix recipe. My mom made something called Texas Trash which I think is much closer to, if not the actual, original Chex Mix recipe. This version is absolutely less healthy so don't complain about the calories or salt if you make these changes...you have been warned! ??. That being said, this mix of spices tastes soooo much better. Use 1 Tbsp each garlic salt, onion salt, celery salt and Worcestershire Sauce and mix that with 1 1/2 cups butter, add Tabasco sauce or cayenne to taste. Then use 3 cups of each of the 3 Chex cereals, 3 cups of Bugles, pretzels, nuts and any other items you would like to add. We like to add goldfish crackers, more pecans to ours. The extra salts give the mixture a bolder flavor but it is not overly salted if you mix everything well. I personally prefer using the old fashioned oven method of baking the mixture in the oven at 250 for 2 hours and stirring every 30 minutes. I typically divide the mixture in two large roasting pans for easier mixing. The time gives all of the seasonings time to soak in and let's the mixture get nice and crispy....totally worth the little bit of extra effort!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TRAVLEE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lafayette, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Youngsville, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2014
My BIG Family LOVES my party mix! I've divulged my secret to my 3 girls but everyone says mine is the best they've ever had. The "secret" is real butter, about a tsp of lemon juice, AND I double the normal amounts of Worcestershire sauce & powder ingredients for a single batch. It takes also double the time, about 15-20 minutes, stirring every 2-3 minutes. I also add a tsp. or so Louisiana Hot Sauce. Gives the spicy flavor without the hotness. My Grandchildren (twins age-boy & girl 8, 6, 4 love it, too!).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2014
DIdn't like microwave method. Went back to oven method 250 for 1hour stirring every 15 min. We really like it with garlic and onion powder than the salt. Always put tobacco in the mixture. Just a little kick. I always use butter it's not watered down. Oven method gets a 5 star.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2014
I did change the recipe so the 4 stars could have been my fault?? I'm thinking it was the "seasoning salt" that gave me the "chemical" like taste?? It's the only thing I can think of that would. I had read the review that the original recipe used garlic & onion salts (along with seeing it on the box) but I didn't have but the powders. I also doubled the spices - won't do that next time either - way too much for us...but it does keep us from eating too much of it ;) I would say maybe half again on the spices.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2014
It's a classic and always good. I always use more Worcestershire sauce, and seasonings, as I like a stronger flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Spokane, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2014
We used all the seasonings except for the onion powder,also we only used the cereal(our mistake). It turndrd out all soggy! Probably our mistake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Monroe, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2014
Awsome
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2014
Of course this stuff is a classic. It's really good, but my husband joked about needing a spoon and some milk because the Chex is so overwhelming. Next time I made it I used 3 c LESS Chex and increased the pretzels and bagel chips (which I subbed Ritz cracker chips for because I live overseas and the commissary doesn't carry bagel chips). Then it was perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 197) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Party Pinwheels

Cream cheese and savory goodies roll up in tortillas for easy appetizer bites.

Chef John's Party Cheese Puffs

Sharp Cheddar and fresh thyme make these puffs the perfect party appetizer.

Baked Ham and Cheese Party Sandwiches

Try these game-day ready ham and cheese sliders.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States