Original Chex® Party Mix Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2011
I will stick with baking it in the oven it just taste better that way and I also had to make another batch or sauce there was so much cereal mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by erikagee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Monroe, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2011
Very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DANIELLE BEATTY

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Davenport, Iowa, USA
Living In: Ankeny, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2011
Not sure what happened. I followed the recipe, mixed in the wet ingredients and tossed with the dry. Microwaved for 2 minutes, began to smell a tiny bit burnt smell. Stirred and microwaved for 2 more minutes. YIKES! I had to take it out early, because of the intense amount of burnt smell filling my kitchen. The entire bowl was BLACK!! Needless to say, this didn't work out for me :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2011
I put this in my warming drawer in my stove for 1 hour on medium. It infuses the flavor much better than the microwave.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ttownbeth

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2011
The stuff you buy in the bag doesn't compare to making it yourself.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wendy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2011
I did not add the nuts or the bagel chips as I did not have any on hand. Instead I subbed 2 cups of Cheerios. I cut the salt down to 1tsp as well. I made it in the microwave as instructed. In the past I have always baked it for an hour, stirring every 15 minutes. I think there is a deeper flavor with the oven method than with the microwave... This is good for quick and easy but I'll stick to the oven baked version in the future.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MATTSBELLY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2011
Classic recipe which is not always on the box. Thanks for putting it here! To keep this gluten-free we just use the corn and rice chex and peanuts. We do 12 c. of the cereal and 2 c. peanuts. I love Worcestershire sauce so I double that and bake at 250 for an hour and 15 minutes. My youngest daughter and I made this an hour ago and can't wait for it to come out of the oven!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2011
Chex mix is delicious but this recipe is rather lacking. I followed this recipe exactly and I ended up with bland, burnt Chex mix. I had to add more of everything to this, especially salt. It does not need to cook as long as it says. 40-45 minutes is long enough for chex mix. Also you want to cook this in a small deep pan so it will not burn. This is a good start for a Chex mix recipe, but plan on making a few changes to make it really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kooluhlz

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Charlotte, Michigan, USA
Living In: Kalamazoo, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2011
I had never made Chex mix before and it turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wenatchee, Washington, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2011
Excellent. I used a big plastic bowl and mixed well before and during microwaving. Allow time to cool and everything crisps up like the oven. You don't have to worry about scorching and it's fast and easy. I make up a gallon ziploc bagful of dry ingredeints in advance and when ready I add sauce ingredients!! I like cheeze crackers in mine instead of pretzels, but you can make any changes you like!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Macy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 197) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Party Pinwheels

Cream cheese and savory goodies roll up in tortillas for easy appetizer bites.

Chef John's Party Cheese Puffs

Sharp Cheddar and fresh thyme make these puffs the perfect party appetizer.

Baked Ham and Cheese Party Sandwiches

Try these game-day ready ham and cheese sliders.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States