Original Chex® Party Mix Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2013
I experimented with both margarine and stick butter. The margarine is much better. The stick butter doesn't mix with the powdered ingredients evenly. It stays hovering in pouring bowl and doesn't pour out evenly over mix. I also added a little tobasco to give it a little more flavor but not to much to be hot. Very good. I'm experimenting with chipolte tobasco. So far so good. all positive comments so far.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2013
Still trying to find the original. I've read so much and tried different varieties. I used to have it and now can't find it. I followed the advice left by many and doubled the seasonings - still I'm finding it a bit bland. I also roasted it but will try in microwave too. This was good, it's just not the original like Chex is saying it is....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Glendale, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2013
This was really fun to make with my daughter. I doubled the seasonings as one reviewer suggested. I used broken up garlic Melba toast in place of bagel chips. Also, I cooked in the oven, just because it's more fun that way. This turned out fantastic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by entityellow

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lakewood, Washington, USA
Living In: Puyallup, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2013
Haven't tried this one, I still use my Mama's recipe from the 60's or 70's. She always added more sauce, I double mine plus she also used lemon juice and instead of pita chips we use Cheerio's. Bake it on 250 degrees stirring every 15 minutes. Going to make some for the game Saturday.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2013
really addicting. fun because you can throw in whatever you like. even better if you add some hot sauce too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2013
I'm addicted to it! I skip the bagel bites and add in extra nuts. I also bake it in the oven at 250 degrees for 1 hour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2012
I make this every year, but have strayed from the original by using goldfish, cheezits, and any other small crackers I can think of. It's always good. I still like to bake it in the oven though, instead of using the microwave. I bake it in a 200 degree oven for 45 minutes, turning the mixture over with a spatula every 15 minutes. I have also enjoyed adding 1/2 to 2/3 cup of raisins, or craisins for the final 15 minutes. It doesn't last long around my house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Love2Cook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Indianola, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Edmond, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2012
I always use Cheerios instead of the bagel chips. This recipe is a hit every time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rachel

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2012
2 stars for recipe as is. I made two batches to use up all the cereal boxes and the first one was way too bland. I doubled the seasonings of the second batch and it was nearly perfect, though maybe a touch salty. Next time I will add an extra T of W. sauce and maybe 1 t less seasoning salt. Oh, and as so many others suggested, I went the oven route: 250 for 1 hr, stirred every 15 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AngZ

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2012
I like this recipe but I make mine in the oven and I always substitute cajun seasoning for the seasoned salt ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 193) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Party Pinwheels

Cream cheese and savory goodies roll up in tortillas for easy appetizer bites.

Chef John's Party Cheese Puffs

Sharp Cheddar and fresh thyme make these puffs the perfect party appetizer.

Retro Cocktail Party

Clink your glasses in a toast to cool days gone by.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States