Original Chex® Party Mix Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2009
I love this stuff. The only problem I have with this dish is I eat too much of it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tanya Taylor

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Corcoran, California, USA
Living In: Burney, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2009
a holiday staple at my house. I use a little more butter, garlic powder, and worstchester than the recipe calls for, along with about one Tbs. steak sauce like A-1 for a little zing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chesaning, Michigan, USA
Living In: Greenville, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2009
This is just ok, something to munch on if desperate. I even doubled the dry ingredients. Not sure why it got such great reviews but I probably won't use this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SABRINAWRIGHT

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2009
A classic! You can't go wrong. We have some family members with nut allergies, so I sub Cheerios for the nuts - it is a great addition.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2009
I love this kid friendly appetizer. I like baking mine instead of microwaving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christine W.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ballwin, Missouri, USA
Living In: Fredericksburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2008
Great recipe. Makes a large amount. Great snack to have around when watching football! I prefer the oven-roasted recipe. Oven directions: Heat oven to 250°F. In large bowl, mix cereals, nuts, pretzels and bagel chips; set aside. In ungreased large roasting pan, melt butter in oven. Stir in seasonings. Gradually stir in cereal mixture until evenly coated. Bake 1 hour, stirring every 15 minutes. Spread on paper towels to cool, about 15 minutes. Store in airtight container.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2008
I've always been a fan of the Chex Mix that comes straight off the shelf, and decided to give this mix a try. After following a tweaked recipe where I increased the spices and changed a few ingredients (honey-roasted peanuts, flavored pita chips rather than bagel chips) it has become a milder version of the store-bought Chex Mix. This can definitely be remedied by increasing the amount of seasonings even more, but I've liked the cutback from adding too much flavor to the party mix. This nice and easy recipe gave me just the perfect base for a party mix that I needed, which is not too overwhelming in flavor and still great to snack on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dennis Chu

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Middletown, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Alexandria, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2008
I used walnuts, pretzels, the chex cereals and double seasonings and the suggested butter. Baked at 250 for one hour stirring every 15 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by carollou3
Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2008
I made the half recipe that I found on the Chex website. However, I don't like the pretzels or bagel chips, so I used Cheerios cereal to replace the bagel chips and pretzels. It seems that it could use more butter and seasoning mixture. Mine turned out not well enough coated and I had to add more butter and of the Worcestershire sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by heidihh1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bloomington, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Fridley, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2008
Much better than the packaged
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 190) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Party Pinwheels

Cream cheese and savory goodies roll up in tortillas for easy appetizer bites.

Chef John's Party Cheese Puffs

Sharp Cheddar and fresh thyme make these puffs the perfect party appetizer.

Sweet, Salty, Spicy Party Nuts

See how to make homemade gourmet spiced party nuts.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States