Original Chex® Party Mix Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2009
I basically use this recipe except I add 1 tsp of Tabasco. It doesn't make it spicy - just good! And I agree with other reviews. The best way to make Chex Mix is to bake at 200 degrees for about 45 minutes, stirring every 15 minutes, then cool on paper towels.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lexington, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2009
I was born in the 50s. Chex Mix is just a tradition at the holidays. I find it funny how the "Original" recipe has evolved a bit over the years. The latest seems to include the garlic things and made in the microwave! Heehee. Whatever you add, I still like the "Original" spice combination, although I usually add a bit more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karen Potter

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Murfreesboro, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2009
I agree with other reviewers to double the seasonings except the butter. (tasted very bland the first time) I also ended up baking it in the oven at 250 for an hour, stirring every 15 min, because the microwave version just didn't seem quite right. So for the 2nd batch, I made these changes, and substituted olive oil (I was out of real butter) and it was absolutely delicious! I couldn't tell the difference from the butter version. (except it was a little heart healthier.) To make a spicy version--I add a very liberal shaking of tabasco sauce to the other seasonings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by subwifeGoNAVY

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2009
I love Chex@ Party Mix.... it's been a holiday staple in our family for years. I make it without the nuts and pretzels though, that way I'm not picking though the mix taking out all the Chex@.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by shauschi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2009
I only ever make these around the holidays because I would never be able to keep up with the demand year round :) Such a great snack and holiday staple!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PantryDreams

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Corvallis, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2009
The (old) original recipe had no bagel chips and only garlic and onion salts, no seasoned salt. It also called for lemon juice. When i make it, i use whole boxes of cereal (my family likes one box each of corn and rice Chex, one box Crispix, and one small box Cheerios. Of course the small pretzel sticks(1/2 bag), one can cashew halves, one can fancy mixed nuts,without peanuts(otherwise the whole batch tastes like peanuts) 12T. butter,4T. lemon juice, 9T. Worchestershire, 1 T. each onion and garlic salts. Mix all cereals,nuts,pretzels in a large roaster pan. Melt butter and add rest of seasonings, re-warm in mw and mix well so salts are dissolved. Pour over mix in pan, stir well, bake for 45 min. 250 degrees, stirring every 15 min. Cool really well...I put it outside in the winter so it cools and stays crisp. Freeze in zip bags and use as needed. Enough to take to gatherings and give as gifts. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
67 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2009
This is the microwave recipe that you find on the Chex boxes now. The microwave version may be simpler (?) but nothing beats the toasty flavor you get from the slow baked "Original" recipe. 250 degrees for an hour; stirring every 15 minutes. Remove from oven, spread on paper towels to cool. We sprinkle Tabasco over the mix before the final 15 minutes of baking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2009
No variation will ever beat the Original! I love that this can be microwaved - very fast and easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julie Loubert

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Burton, Michigan, USA
Living In: Saint Helen, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2009
Here are some suggestions. 1. Double the batch (this bowl gets emptied way too soon!) 2. Use a big turkey roaster and put the cereal, chips, nuts (we love cashews and almonds), pretzels first. 3. Melt the butter and mix in all the seasonings then drizzle over the dry ingredients, stirring with each pass. If you melt in the pan and then add the cereal, the items in the bottom get soaked and the rest are dry. 4. Then we spray lemon juice on the mix! It is not the same without it. We lightly spray before we put it in the oven and each time we take it out to stir (every 15 minutes). We use a Pamperd Chef sprayer with stright lemon juice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2009
I don't like bagel chips in this so I use Extreme Cheddar Goldfish. Yum!! Nice gift at Christmas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dining Diva

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Agawam, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: East Granby, Connecticut, USA

Displaying results 111-120 (of 195) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Party Pinwheels

Cream cheese and savory goodies roll up in tortillas for easy appetizer bites.

Chef John's Party Cheese Puffs

Sharp Cheddar and fresh thyme make these puffs the perfect party appetizer.

Retro Cocktail Party

Clink your glasses in a toast to cool days gone by.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States