Original Chex® Party Mix Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2009
I like the oven version better myself but it is still very good. I substitute cheerios for the bagel chips. You can also freeze the mix in ziploc bags. I do this every year and hubby has it for months.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2009
A classic family favorite! So much better than the bagged junk you buy at the grocery store...we sometimes add goldfish or small Fritos to the mix :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lisa-lu

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2009
more seasoning :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by elangtry

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2009
Very yummy, but 4 minutes in my microwave was borderline too long. I will adjust the cooktime next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2009
This was very good! I did follow the recommendations of others and use the baking method instead of the microwave. Next time I will try adding more seasoning as I felt it was a tad bland, but definitely a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MACHMILA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2009
Very good, but if you add more garlic and onion its even better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jessandsam

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2009
I basically use this recipe except I add 1 tsp of Tabasco. It doesn't make it spicy - just good! And I agree with other reviews. The best way to make Chex Mix is to bake at 200 degrees for about 45 minutes, stirring every 15 minutes, then cool on paper towels.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lexington, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2009
I was born in the 50s. Chex Mix is just a tradition at the holidays. I find it funny how the "Original" recipe has evolved a bit over the years. The latest seems to include the garlic things and made in the microwave! Heehee. Whatever you add, I still like the "Original" spice combination, although I usually add a bit more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karen Potter

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Murfreesboro, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2009
I agree with other reviewers to double the seasonings except the butter. (tasted very bland the first time) I also ended up baking it in the oven at 250 for an hour, stirring every 15 min, because the microwave version just didn't seem quite right. So for the 2nd batch, I made these changes, and substituted olive oil (I was out of real butter) and it was absolutely delicious! I couldn't tell the difference from the butter version. (except it was a little heart healthier.) To make a spicy version--I add a very liberal shaking of tabasco sauce to the other seasonings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by subwifeGoNAVY

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2009
I love Chex@ Party Mix.... it's been a holiday staple in our family for years. I make it without the nuts and pretzels though, that way I'm not picking though the mix taking out all the Chex@.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by shauschi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 191) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Party Pinwheels

Cream cheese and savory goodies roll up in tortillas for easy appetizer bites.

Chef John's Party Cheese Puffs

Sharp Cheddar and fresh thyme make these puffs the perfect party appetizer.

Retro Cocktail Party

Clink your glasses in a toast to cool days gone by.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States