Original Buffalo Wings Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2006
Thank you! I have been searching for a wings recipe that wasn't so hot it melted the lining of your mouth! My kids don't like anything too hot, so this was great. A nice taste for us and my husband just sprinkled a little hot sauce on his before he ate! Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Odell, Illinois, USA
Living In: Marseilles, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2009
I gave this 5 stars cuz all I had to do to make the best wings I ever had was to skip the vinegar and add 2 tablespoons of minced garlic from a jar (including the liquid). Now if you want coop d grace, put them on your grill and flame broil them breifly. You want 5 star try that. Without reading this recipe I would have missed out on these fantastic garlic wings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sledgehammer

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Troy, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2011
I didn't try this recipe yet, but in the creator's defense, I think there has been a misunderstanding. Reviewers are complaining the recipe wasn't hot (spicy) enough. Where the recipe submitter states to use "2 teaspoons hot pepper sauce", I believe she is referring to McIlhenny's Tabasco sauce, which is nearly 10 X hotter than Frank's REDHOT. Any chef worth her salt in the kitchen knows that peppers (and their derivatives, i.e. hot sauce) have a heat rating scale varying from zero (red bell pepper) to 16 million (Pure capsaicin and Dihydrocapsaicin). Frank's REDHOT rates 450 units on the heat scale; McIlhenny's Tabasco rates 2,500-5,000 units; therefore Tabasco is roughly 5-10 times hotter than Frank's. If so inclined, try the recipe again, and make the adjustments, either use Tabasco as the recipe is written @ 2 tsp., or use 5-10 times the Frank's (2 teaspoons X 5-10, anywhere from 3.5 to 7 Tablespoons, which is nearly 1/2 cup Frank's). Add slowly to taste. I realize the cooking levels and knowledge of participants on this site varies as much as the pepper ranking scale, so let's cut each other a bit of slack and work together to share some fantastic recipes, Allrecipes cooks! Cheers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2006
We have used this recipe 3 times to make our wings and they come out PERFECT every time! We used Louisana hot sauce and they were hot hot hot. Will definitely be making these more often during football season.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2003
I like them. They could be hotter, if you like it that way - easy fix - just add more cayenne.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by txsweetteamoses
Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2014
Fried them but used my seasoning!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by txsweetteamoses

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2010
I thought these were good, but I breaded the chicken first. Pretty basic recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2009
This recipe is great I have been using it for 25 years now. The only thing is it does not need vinegar it takes the taste and the hotness out of them. If you are looking for hot try using half the butter and let it reduce by a third. Great for superbowl parties. I never had a superbowl party fail (unless no wings)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2007
Pretty easy to make, I just didn't add the vinegar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2008
It's a good sauce, but it does lack any heat. I used a good spicy pepper sauce, but the extra vinegar cut the heat too much. Also, one tip that helps increase the heat a little: once you've coated the wings with the sauce, throw them back into the fryer for a minute more or so. Then drain and re-coat. Very good stuff.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jason

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 19) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Buffalo Chicken Wings I

See how to make restaurant-style Buffalo chicken wings.

Buffalo Chicken Wings III

These baked wings get an extra flavor kick from cayenne pepper.

Baked Buffalo Wings

See how to make delicious hot wings in the oven.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States