Original Buffalo Wings Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2002
My husband likes his wing spicy. Unfortunately he hated this sauce. Said it tasted too vinegary and had no spice. I won't make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
54 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Merritt Island, Florida, USA
Living In: Saint Cloud, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2006
First, the picture listed is NOT how the wings should look. You should have golden brown wings that are well done (that's the way we enjoy them, anyway) second, Red Hot pepper sauce usually makes the best sauce. I only add as much butter as needed, depending on the heat you're looking for. More heat = less butter. If you are really looking for REALLY HOT wings, cook your RED HOT pepper sauce until reduceded by about a third. You will then LOVE the heat it brings on. And one other thing, DO NOT add any vinegar to this recipe and be sparing with the salt. Any pepper sauce you use will have more that enough vinegar already as well as sodium. PS I've been making these for 15 years and have never had one person not love them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Howell, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2004
Aww heeeellll no! Ya finnah call these wings? Yo, this recipe is staler than my old Tone Loc records. Tarek Bourie in the hiiizzzzooouuuusssse!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2011
I didn't try this recipe yet, but in the creator's defense, I think there has been a misunderstanding. Reviewers are complaining the recipe wasn't hot (spicy) enough. Where the recipe submitter states to use "2 teaspoons hot pepper sauce", I believe she is referring to McIlhenny's Tabasco sauce, which is nearly 10 X hotter than Frank's REDHOT. Any chef worth her salt in the kitchen knows that peppers (and their derivatives, i.e. hot sauce) have a heat rating scale varying from zero (red bell pepper) to 16 million (Pure capsaicin and Dihydrocapsaicin). Frank's REDHOT rates 450 units on the heat scale; McIlhenny's Tabasco rates 2,500-5,000 units; therefore Tabasco is roughly 5-10 times hotter than Frank's. If so inclined, try the recipe again, and make the adjustments, either use Tabasco as the recipe is written @ 2 tsp., or use 5-10 times the Frank's (2 teaspoons X 5-10, anywhere from 3.5 to 7 Tablespoons, which is nearly 1/2 cup Frank's). Add slowly to taste. I realize the cooking levels and knowledge of participants on this site varies as much as the pepper ranking scale, so let's cut each other a bit of slack and work together to share some fantastic recipes, Allrecipes cooks! Cheers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2003
I like them. They could be hotter, if you like it that way - easy fix - just add more cayenne.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2008
This is NOT the original recipe. There is no added vinegar to the Frank's Hot Sauce and butter. Also, this is so bland. You need at least 1/2 cup of Frank's to give it any heat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA
Living In: Farmington, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2003
This recipe I thought was tasteless. Definitely not hot enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2006
Thank you! I have been searching for a wings recipe that wasn't so hot it melted the lining of your mouth! My kids don't like anything too hot, so this was great. A nice taste for us and my husband just sprinkled a little hot sauce on his before he ate! Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Odell, Illinois, USA
Living In: Marseilles, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2008
It's a good sauce, but it does lack any heat. I used a good spicy pepper sauce, but the extra vinegar cut the heat too much. Also, one tip that helps increase the heat a little: once you've coated the wings with the sauce, throw them back into the fryer for a minute more or so. Then drain and re-coat. Very good stuff.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jason

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2009
I give this recipe a 3 star because I had to modify the ingredients. I did not use vinegar because I used Frank's Red Hot Sauce. I used 1/2 cup Franks and a 1/2 cup butter-- real butter, no substitutes. I also added 1/4 teasp salt, 1 tablespoon paprika, 1 teaspoon garlic powder, 1 tablespoon Oregano, 1 teaspoon pepper, 1/2 teaspoon chili powder and 1 teaspoon cumin. I dried my chicken wings off and coated them with flour TWICE (I think this is how KFC does it too), I had to fry them for a while until they were crispy golden brown and then dipped and coated them in sauce- shook off the extra sauce and served them. If you want more spice you have to change your butter to hot sauce ratio- more hot sauce = more spice. I will use my modified recipe again in the future.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by zoeannamontana

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 19) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Buffalo Chicken Wings I

See how to make restaurant-style Buffalo chicken wings.

Buffalo Chicken Wings III

These baked wings get an extra flavor kick from cayenne pepper.

Baked Buffalo Wings

See how to make delicious hot wings in the oven.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States