Original Blue Cheese Coleslaw Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2014
This is wonderful and my fiancé loves it! I am not a blu cheese fan but this is just so delicious! When I make this I omit the onion and celery but add bacon! The bacon, blu cheese, mayo and lemon really combines well and adds great flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2014
A really refreshing change from standard coleslaw dressing! Instead of using the crumbled blue cheese and mayonnaise I simply used my favorite Marie's Chunky Blue Cheese brand salad dressing in a jar (found in the produce section) to coat the shredded cabbage and then added the fresh lemon juice and salt and pepper to taste. I love your idea of the addition of celery and green onions, too! Was going to give your recipe a five star but am giving it a four because of the error amount of 6 'stalks' of celery instead of 6 'ribs'. ;-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deeli

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Richland, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2013
Omitted green onions and celery. Used one lemon and added celery seed. Used 1/2 cup mayo and I/2 cup light sour cream. Great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Vbueno

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2013
I love this recipe!! My go to coleslaw and always gets rave reviews. Have made it probably 20 times now and can't believe it took me this long to review. Only thing i do differently is cut down on the lemons used - a little too tart otherwise. The green onions and celery give it a wonderful texture and kick
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2012
YUM! One of my husband's favorite meals is Divinesolace21's buffalo chicken sandwiches. Although good, I've never liked them as much as he does. I enjoy the combo of buffalo wings and blue cheese together, so I thought this might be a good addition to our sandwiches. I'm SOOOOO glad I tried this!!! Not only did my confirmed blue cheese-hating hubs like this, I absolutely LOVED how it complemented Divine's sandwiches! :) The blue cheese and lemon dressing tamed the heat and paired BEAUTIFULLY together!!! NOTE: Only make as much of this as you will eat in one sitting (this does not keep well!). Thanks SO much for sharing your recipe, Jodi. You've cleverly found a way to turn a so-so meal into something that even I now enjoy! :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Mickey (aka Mickey)

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: De Soto, Missouri, USA
Living In: Elgin, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: May 31, 2012
Delicious! I made it for memorial weekend and it was fantastic! I was a little concerned with the blue cheese and lemon combo, but it was great! I'm even making it again this weekend, and Memorial weekend was last weekend. I just have to have it again. I didn't change anything except I used light Hellmen's Mayonaise.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2011
I used this as a topping for Spicy Pulled Pork Sliders. The blue cheese balanced the spicy pork perfectly! Based upon other reviews, i did use a bit less lemon and a little more cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2011
I don't like regular coleslaw, so I'm always looking for different ways to make it because the crunch is so nice especially in the summer! This recipe is awesome and a great side dish for any buffalo chicken sandwich type meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2011
made exactly as written and it was delicious! light, crispy and refreshing. I used regular slaw and it was still crispy the next day for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2010
I enjoyed this coleslaw and was impressed by how easy and good it was. I was like, "wow did I make this?!" But my husband was not a fan. He said it should have been sweeter and he said he'd never heard of bleu cheese in cole slaw--but he has cuz one of our favorite restaurants prepares it as so! Next time I will try one of those vinegar based slaws they serve at our favorite BBQ restaurant...he loves that!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 26) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Cauliflower Soup with Blue Cheese Fritters

Earthy, comforting cauliflower soup is topped with light, cheesy fritters.

Pear and Blue Cheese Salad

A green salad gets dressed up with sliced pears, candied pecans, and blue cheese.

Green Bean Almondine with Garlic & Blue Cheese

Trick out your green bean side dish with roasted garlic & tangy blue cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States