Original Blue Cheese Coleslaw Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by jodi
Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2009
This is my husband's favorite! I always make this when having the Slow Cooker Buffalo Chicken from this same website. We like to put the slaw on top of the sanwich...yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jodi

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ringwood, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2009
Fantastic and so easy! I took this to a dinner party and everyone raved about it. I think the celery and lemon juice are what makes this so good as they add a crisp flavor different from most mayo based coleslaw, yet you can't taste the lemon. I will be making this often as I'm trying to add more cabbage into our diet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2009
This was soooo good! I liked eating it best right away better than leftover the next day. I omitted the celery and didn't use a mix: instead I just used regular cabbage and a little red onion. I was looking for a way to use up my blue cheese and this is the way to go! Thanks for the recipe, jodi! I will use this again and again -- great twist on ordinary coleslaw!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LashGal

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2010
This was amazing! I followed the recipe almost exactly (I used a bit less lemon and a bit more blue cheese) I also used packaged coleslaw, but with lots of extra julienned carrots and extra red cabbage. This one is going in my favorites!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2010
I really enjoyed this salad. I didn't think that the coleslaw mix with cabbage would stand up to the dressing, so I used broccoli slaw and thought it was great. Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TaraV1976

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Greybull, Wyoming, USA
Living In: Casper, Wyoming, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2012
YUM! One of my husband's favorite meals is Divinesolace21's buffalo chicken sandwiches. Although good, I've never liked them as much as he does. I enjoy the combo of buffalo wings and blue cheese together, so I thought this might be a good addition to our sandwiches. I'm SOOOOO glad I tried this!!! Not only did my confirmed blue cheese-hating hubs like this, I absolutely LOVED how it complemented Divine's sandwiches! :) The blue cheese and lemon dressing tamed the heat and paired BEAUTIFULLY together!!! NOTE: Only make as much of this as you will eat in one sitting (this does not keep well!). Thanks SO much for sharing your recipe, Jodi. You've cleverly found a way to turn a so-so meal into something that even I now enjoy! :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Mickey (aka Mickey)

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: De Soto, Missouri, USA
Living In: Elgin, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2011
made exactly as written and it was delicious! light, crispy and refreshing. I used regular slaw and it was still crispy the next day for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2011
I used this as a topping for Spicy Pulled Pork Sliders. The blue cheese balanced the spicy pork perfectly! Based upon other reviews, i did use a bit less lemon and a little more cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2011
I don't like regular coleslaw, so I'm always looking for different ways to make it because the crunch is so nice especially in the summer! This recipe is awesome and a great side dish for any buffalo chicken sandwich type meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Justine
Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2009
This was really different and pretty good. I was disapointed the next day though, as coleslaws are usually better the next day - the blue cheese in the slaw was too over-powering! Better to eat it all up the same day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Justine

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 26) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cauliflower Soup with Blue Cheese Fritters

Earthy, comforting cauliflower soup is topped with light, cheesy fritters.

Pear and Blue Cheese Salad

A green salad gets dressed up with sliced pears, candied pecans, and blue cheese.

Green Bean Almondine with Garlic & Blue Cheese

Trick out your green bean side dish with roasted garlic & tangy blue cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States