Original Blue Cheese Coleslaw Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by jodi
Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2009
This is my husband's favorite! I always make this when having the Slow Cooker Buffalo Chicken from this same website. We like to put the slaw on top of the sanwich...yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jodi

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ringwood, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2009
Fantastic and so easy! I took this to a dinner party and everyone raved about it. I think the celery and lemon juice are what makes this so good as they add a crisp flavor different from most mayo based coleslaw, yet you can't taste the lemon. I will be making this often as I'm trying to add more cabbage into our diet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2009
This was soooo good! I liked eating it best right away better than leftover the next day. I omitted the celery and didn't use a mix: instead I just used regular cabbage and a little red onion. I was looking for a way to use up my blue cheese and this is the way to go! Thanks for the recipe, jodi! I will use this again and again -- great twist on ordinary coleslaw!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LashGal

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2010
This was amazing! I followed the recipe almost exactly (I used a bit less lemon and a bit more blue cheese) I also used packaged coleslaw, but with lots of extra julienned carrots and extra red cabbage. This one is going in my favorites!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2010
I really enjoyed this salad. I didn't think that the coleslaw mix with cabbage would stand up to the dressing, so I used broccoli slaw and thought it was great. Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TaraV1976

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Greybull, Wyoming, USA
Living In: Casper, Wyoming, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2012
YUM! One of my husband's favorite meals is Divinesolace21's buffalo chicken sandwiches. Although good, I've never liked them as much as he does. I enjoy the combo of buffalo wings and blue cheese together, so I thought this might be a good addition to our sandwiches. I'm SOOOOO glad I tried this!!! Not only did my confirmed blue cheese-hating hubs like this, I absolutely LOVED how it complemented Divine's sandwiches! :) The blue cheese and lemon dressing tamed the heat and paired BEAUTIFULLY together!!! NOTE: Only make as much of this as you will eat in one sitting (this does not keep well!). Thanks SO much for sharing your recipe, Jodi. You've cleverly found a way to turn a so-so meal into something that even I now enjoy! :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Mickey (aka Mickey)

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: De Soto, Missouri, USA
Living In: Elgin, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2011
made exactly as written and it was delicious! light, crispy and refreshing. I used regular slaw and it was still crispy the next day for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2011
I used this as a topping for Spicy Pulled Pork Sliders. The blue cheese balanced the spicy pork perfectly! Based upon other reviews, i did use a bit less lemon and a little more cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2011
I don't like regular coleslaw, so I'm always looking for different ways to make it because the crunch is so nice especially in the summer! This recipe is awesome and a great side dish for any buffalo chicken sandwich type meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Justine
Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2009
This was really different and pretty good. I was disapointed the next day though, as coleslaws are usually better the next day - the blue cheese in the slaw was too over-powering! Better to eat it all up the same day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Justine

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 28) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Plan Your Easter Brunch
Plan Your Easter Brunch

Breakfast casseroles, drinks, fancy eggs, and brunch ideas for a sweet Easter event.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Cauliflower Soup with Blue Cheese Fritters

Earthy, comforting cauliflower soup is topped with light, cheesy fritters.

Pear and Blue Cheese Salad

A green salad gets dressed up with sliced pears, candied pecans, and blue cheese.

Green Bean Almondine with Garlic & Blue Cheese

Trick out your green bean side dish with roasted garlic & tangy blue cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States