Original Blue Cheese Coleslaw Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2015
Was looking for something different to have with chicken wings. I forgot to buy blue cheese so I used blue cheese dressing and omitted the mayo. Yum. It is great on hotdogs too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dorine
Home Town: Mattituck, New York, USA
Living In: Port Charlotte, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2015
Great Recipe- a fun take on regular coleslaw. Had this for the first time at a baby shower and we al loved it! Making it tonight with the slow cooker pulled pork recipe from this site. Tip= I decrease the blue cheese from this recipe by a 1/3 of a cup b/c I find it to be very strong if I don't.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessika393

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2014
This is wonderful and my fiancé loves it! I am not a blu cheese fan but this is just so delicious! When I make this I omit the onion and celery but add bacon! The bacon, blu cheese, mayo and lemon really combines well and adds great flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2014
A really refreshing change from standard coleslaw dressing! Instead of using the crumbled blue cheese and mayonnaise I simply used my favorite Marie's Chunky Blue Cheese brand salad dressing in a jar (found in the produce section) to coat the shredded cabbage and then added the fresh lemon juice and salt and pepper to taste. I love your idea of the addition of celery and green onions, too! Was going to give your recipe a five star but am giving it a four because of the error amount of 6 'stalks' of celery instead of 6 'ribs'. ;-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deeli

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Richland, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2013
Omitted green onions and celery. Used one lemon and added celery seed. Used 1/2 cup mayo and I/2 cup light sour cream. Great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Vbueno

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2013
I love this recipe!! My go to coleslaw and always gets rave reviews. Have made it probably 20 times now and can't believe it took me this long to review. Only thing i do differently is cut down on the lemons used - a little too tart otherwise. The green onions and celery give it a wonderful texture and kick
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2012
YUM! One of my husband's favorite meals is Divinesolace21's buffalo chicken sandwiches. Although good, I've never liked them as much as he does. I enjoy the combo of buffalo wings and blue cheese together, so I thought this might be a good addition to our sandwiches. I'm SOOOOO glad I tried this!!! Not only did my confirmed blue cheese-hating hubs like this, I absolutely LOVED how it complemented Divine's sandwiches! :) The blue cheese and lemon dressing tamed the heat and paired BEAUTIFULLY together!!! NOTE: Only make as much of this as you will eat in one sitting (this does not keep well!). Thanks SO much for sharing your recipe, Jodi. You've cleverly found a way to turn a so-so meal into something that even I now enjoy! :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Mickey (aka Mickey)

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: De Soto, Missouri, USA
Living In: Elgin, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: May 31, 2012
Delicious! I made it for memorial weekend and it was fantastic! I was a little concerned with the blue cheese and lemon combo, but it was great! I'm even making it again this weekend, and Memorial weekend was last weekend. I just have to have it again. I didn't change anything except I used light Hellmen's Mayonaise.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2011
I used this as a topping for Spicy Pulled Pork Sliders. The blue cheese balanced the spicy pork perfectly! Based upon other reviews, i did use a bit less lemon and a little more cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2011
I don't like regular coleslaw, so I'm always looking for different ways to make it because the crunch is so nice especially in the summer! This recipe is awesome and a great side dish for any buffalo chicken sandwich type meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 28) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Cauliflower Soup with Blue Cheese Fritters

Earthy, comforting cauliflower soup is topped with light, cheesy fritters.

Pear and Blue Cheese Salad

A green salad gets dressed up with sliced pears, candied pecans, and blue cheese.

Green Bean Almondine with Garlic & Blue Cheese

Trick out your green bean side dish with roasted garlic & tangy blue cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States