Oriental Style Ginger Dressing Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2003
I was looking for the flavorful ginger dressing you'd find at a Japanese hibachi steakhouse, and this recipe is definitely not it. It tastes ok, but I ended up throwing it out after eating one serving over salad. The ingredients just didn't seem to mesh well together after whisking. Alas, I continue my search for that elusive creamy ginger dressing...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AsianFoodExpert

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Longview, Texas, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2005
Wonderful dressing with modifications. I reduced vinegar to 1/2 cup and I used Rice Vinegar instead. I'm not a vinegar person and 1 cup was very watery. I also upped the Sesame Oil from 1 tsp to 2-3tsp.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2008
Very good salad dressing, although it does require a bit of tweaking! The list of ingredients is perfect, but the measurements need a little changing. One tip- if you have a good seasons bottle follow the vinegar and oil lines on the bottle and add everything else in varying quantities according to your tastes and it will turn out well! Also, rice wine vinegar gives it a bit more authentic taste!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Muffinmom

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Syracuse, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2002
I made this dressing to take to work and I liked it so good that I kept it. It was well worth the time to make it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2005
CHANGE THE WHITE VINIGER TO RICE VINIGER AND USE TO TASTE. 1 CUP OF VINIGER IS ALOT.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2005
This recipe has potential if you lessen the amount of vinegar used. That's all I could taste!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2006
Definitely only use half the vinegar. But it needs something else.. soy sauce I think. There's another recipe for Asian Ginger Dressing on this website that I like better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Syracuse, New York, USA
Living In: Schenectady, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2009
This is exactly what we were looking for complement our Oriental Spinach salad with stir fried pork. Tangy, and that little bite was just what the salad needed. It's a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2011
Super easy and really good! I scaled it to half the amount and put all the ingredients into a Italian dressing shaker bottle, tossed it with some coleslaw mix, added some crunchy chow mein noodles and voila! A perfect side to Mongolian broccoli beef and rice. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Salem, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2011
Way too much vinegar for my family's taste. I will not make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sturgeon Bay, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 11) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Asian Ginger Dressing

This fresh-tasting dressing is especially tasty on cabbage salads.

Italian Dressing Mix

See how to make a quick-and-easy dry Italian dressing mix.

All about Ginger

See how ginger is used to flavor so many foods and drinks.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States