Oriental Shrimp Noodle Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2008
We really liked this at our house. It was easy to make. I didn't use celery becasue I don't like the taste, but I think water chestnuts would be good for some crunch. I also would use different noodles next time. The rice ones I got at my store were about 3 feet long in a big ball and very difficult to break or cut. Any helpful hints?! I'm using udon noddles the next time. Overall very good. Update: I make this all the time now and I use 2 packs of ramen noodles, just the noodles, not the seasoning packet. So easy. I also always use water chestnuts and no celery.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by polly625

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rochester, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2008
Ok, after reading other reviews and analyzing the recipe, I made a few small changes, but the recipe would still be great without them (hence, the 5 stars!). The changes that I made were to use ground ginger instead of minced (what I had on hand), 2 cans of cut baby corn instead of carrots, sauteed mushrooms instead of the celery, and used ramen noodles in place of vermicelli. I also added a little sesame oil to my bowl and had everyone else at the table taste it...they ended up adding it to theirs also! I think the only change that I will make next time is to cook the noodles separately and put them into each bowl and then ladle the soup over the top. Just a personal preference!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Raoulysgirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Linn Creek, Missouri, USA
Living In: Camdenton, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2008
My husband and I loved this soup! We'll be making this many more times in the future!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2008
I did not care for this recipe. In my opinion, it had no flavour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2008
This was really good. Did moderate it slightly to suit my taste, like omitting the celery, and using angel hair pasta rather than vermicelli, but still a really good soup, and something I will be making again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2008
I used this recipe because I had my husband's Ramen noodles left from his bachelor days.I did make a few changes and some additions (don't kill me) but I wanted to make this recipe more hardy. I used 1 tsp ginger spice instead of fresh, regular peas instead of snow peas, and vegetable broth instead of chicken broth. The Ramen noodles replaced rice vermicelli. I do not use (or have) crushed red pepper. My additions were: fresh spinach, sliced mushrooms, chopped green onion and canned water chestnuts added to the broth. The following were added in the last 5 minutes: Ramen noodles,thawed peas, thawed shrimp, canned bean sprouts, and even one chopped scrambled egg. The result was a very flavorful, filling meal served with Jasmine rice and chinese noodles. I am pleased with the results; it seemed restaurant quality and am looking forward to tonight's leftovers. **UPDATE** The next night I easily added another cup of water, more carrots, celery, spinach, celery and noodles: it's like the never ending soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Butler, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Mobile, Alabama, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2008
Made as written, this is pretty boring. I ended up adding sliced green onions, sesame oil, a shrimp-flavored bouillon cube, and a little fish sauce. This improved it alot. I also thickened it a bit with cornstarch/water. Not bad but I won't make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Lupton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2008
As warned, this recipe turned out a bit bland for me. I tried to follow the recipe as much as possible, other than substituting green onions for celery (I don't really think it made a huge difference overall), sugar snap peas for snow peas (my grocery store didn't have snow peas - weird!), and using a thicker rice noodle (which I think was a good choice). Soaked the noodles for several minutes before adding to the soup. Used low-sodium broth, which was I'm sure the culprit. The mix of ingredients was good though - the ginger and onion were great (I used a sweet onion), and the other veggies and the shrimp gave a nice flavor. With the blandness of the broth, the red pepper really is what salvaged this dish - it was spicy, but not too spicy for my wimpy tongue. A happy mistake actually made this dish a thousand times better: I accidentally left the stove on low while I was eating, and when I went back for seconds, the soup had simmered down and the broth was significantly reduced. The noodles soaked up the broth, making them fluffy and flavorful, and the rest of the ingredients were more pronounced. The reduced dish was not as soupy, but everyone at the table (me, my boyfriend, and a friend) all agreed that it worked well. If you like salt and want more soup than noodles, I suggest going by the book on this recipe and using full-sodium broth. If you're trying to watch your sodium intake, use a smaller amount of the low-sodium broth and cook the soup on low for much longer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2007
Also added spinach, napa cabbage. Used a full pound of shrimp. Added a dash of sesame oil. Used soaked rice noodles. Soak in hot water 10 min then cook with the soup. Would make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GRNBEEN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Greentown, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2007
I cut the ingredients in half but otherwise followed the recipe to a T. It came out great. I think the trick is not using low-sodium chicken broth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 52) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Vietnamese Beef Noodle Soup

Chef John makes pho, the spicy Vietnamese noodle soup.

Awesome Chicken Noodle Soup

See how to make an amazing homemade chicken noodle soup.

How to Make Homemade Chicken Noodle Soup

Watch Chef John make a simple, soothing chicken noodle soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States