Oriental Shrimp Noodle Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2008
My husband and I loved this soup! We'll be making this many more times in the future!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2008
I did not care for this recipe. In my opinion, it had no flavour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2008
This was really good. Did moderate it slightly to suit my taste, like omitting the celery, and using angel hair pasta rather than vermicelli, but still a really good soup, and something I will be making again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2008
I used this recipe because I had my husband's Ramen noodles left from his bachelor days.I did make a few changes and some additions (don't kill me) but I wanted to make this recipe more hardy. I used 1 tsp ginger spice instead of fresh, regular peas instead of snow peas, and vegetable broth instead of chicken broth. The Ramen noodles replaced rice vermicelli. I do not use (or have) crushed red pepper. My additions were: fresh spinach, sliced mushrooms, chopped green onion and canned water chestnuts added to the broth. The following were added in the last 5 minutes: Ramen noodles,thawed peas, thawed shrimp, canned bean sprouts, and even one chopped scrambled egg. The result was a very flavorful, filling meal served with Jasmine rice and chinese noodles. I am pleased with the results; it seemed restaurant quality and am looking forward to tonight's leftovers. **UPDATE** The next night I easily added another cup of water, more carrots, celery, spinach, celery and noodles: it's like the never ending soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Butler, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Mobile, Alabama, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2008
Made as written, this is pretty boring. I ended up adding sliced green onions, sesame oil, a shrimp-flavored bouillon cube, and a little fish sauce. This improved it alot. I also thickened it a bit with cornstarch/water. Not bad but I won't make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Lupton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2008
As warned, this recipe turned out a bit bland for me. I tried to follow the recipe as much as possible, other than substituting green onions for celery (I don't really think it made a huge difference overall), sugar snap peas for snow peas (my grocery store didn't have snow peas - weird!), and using a thicker rice noodle (which I think was a good choice). Soaked the noodles for several minutes before adding to the soup. Used low-sodium broth, which was I'm sure the culprit. The mix of ingredients was good though - the ginger and onion were great (I used a sweet onion), and the other veggies and the shrimp gave a nice flavor. With the blandness of the broth, the red pepper really is what salvaged this dish - it was spicy, but not too spicy for my wimpy tongue. A happy mistake actually made this dish a thousand times better: I accidentally left the stove on low while I was eating, and when I went back for seconds, the soup had simmered down and the broth was significantly reduced. The noodles soaked up the broth, making them fluffy and flavorful, and the rest of the ingredients were more pronounced. The reduced dish was not as soupy, but everyone at the table (me, my boyfriend, and a friend) all agreed that it worked well. If you like salt and want more soup than noodles, I suggest going by the book on this recipe and using full-sodium broth. If you're trying to watch your sodium intake, use a smaller amount of the low-sodium broth and cook the soup on low for much longer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2007
Also added spinach, napa cabbage. Used a full pound of shrimp. Added a dash of sesame oil. Used soaked rice noodles. Soak in hot water 10 min then cook with the soup. Would make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GRNBEEN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Greentown, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2007
I cut the ingredients in half but otherwise followed the recipe to a T. It came out great. I think the trick is not using low-sodium chicken broth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2007
Delicate flavors, I took the advice of another post and added cilantro and rice wine vinegar. I think the recipe would have been bland without these additions. Next time, I would add more shrimp. I ended up cooking more shrimp with a cajun seasoning and adding it to the leftover soup. Overall, very good and filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Jasper, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2007
A little bland. I took the advice from another review and used low sodium soy sauce. I probably shouldn't have.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 50) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Spicy Vietnamese Beef Noodle Soup

Chef John makes pho, the spicy Vietnamese noodle soup.

How to Make Homemade Chicken Noodle Soup

Watch Chef John make a simple, soothing chicken noodle soup.

Quick and Easy Chicken Noodle Soup

See how to make hearty chicken noodle soup in just 30 minutes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States