Oriental Shrimp Noodle Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2011
Sorry, but as written this was very bland and did not even taste Asian at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2011
Excellent! I added diced chicken breast and mushrooms which I stir fryed with the vegetables, then added the seasonings and broth. I substitued powdered ginger to taste. I also cooked the noodles separately and added them to the soup just before serving. This is great without the noodles for a healthier version. I absolutley love this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Isleton, California, USA
Living In: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2011
Fast and delicious. I normally use frozen shrimp and frozen peas and just let them cook a little longer before I add the noodles. Also delicious with cellophane noodles in place of rice vermicelli.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sammy
Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2011
Well, I couldn't fine rice vermicelli, so I used glass noodles, the problem was that you can't really break them. They all entangled together making the soup hard to eat. So you might not wanna do that, or you'll loose points in presentation. But the taste was wonderful. Thank you Lindsay.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sammy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2011
Tonite I needed this soup! I think it was quite tasty. I did substitute the snow peas for edamame. I also used frozen shrimp instead of fresh, and instead of vermicilli I used thin whole wheat pasta (still broke it up into 2 inch pieces). I opted to eliminate the celery, not a big fan of it. This soup was perfect for this chilly winter evening.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2010
This soup is so good, and is as good as you make it. You can develop the flavor as you go, so make sure your broth is excellent. Add shrimp at the end since they take no time to cook. Really good with Napa cabbage, snow peas, carrots, and bean sprouts added.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2010
I had to use what I had on hand, so my ingredients do vary. Still, I needed the recipe for the relative amounts and techniques. I used some lemongrass from a pot on my patio, jarred minced ginger (no fresh,) asparagus (cut diagonally) and frozen uncooked, tail-on shrimp (which I gently heated in the 2 quarts of water that I eventually strained and added some chicken base to for a slightly fishy chick broth.) Everything else was basically the same. At the end, I added a dash of sesame oil. Just what I was craving tonight, and it was really quick:) Thanks for hitting the spot! I'm giving 'my' version 4 stars, because I didn't have enough fresh lime juice on hand, which would have bumped it up a notch. I'm betting that as written, it would be 5 stars. Looking forward to trying it again with fresh ginger and more limes. I kinda liked the asparagus though . . .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2010
I really liked this soup. It was relatively simple. I had to make a slight adjustment and use ground ginger in place of minced, and I didnt have any snow peas on hand. My one gripe was that the soup was just a tad bit bland for me. I added extra crushed red pepper but it still needed something more. I think next time I may add from cilantro or green onions for additional flavor- otherwise it was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2009
This was ok but I must have done something wrong because it burned my throat. The spiciness of the red pepper and ginger were strong for me, maybe I made a mistake. No one wanted to eat this in my house so hubby will be stuck taking it to work... He's the human garbage disposal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Traci-in-Cali

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2009
This is a great soup recipe. My husband requested it again soon after we made it the first time. I had never worked with fresh ginger before, but read online to peel it with a spoon and it worked great. Very tasty combination!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 47) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Spicy Vietnamese Beef Noodle Soup

Chef John makes pho, the spicy Vietnamese noodle soup.

How to Make Homemade Chicken Noodle Soup

Watch Chef John make a simple, soothing chicken noodle soup.

Quick and Easy Chicken Noodle Soup

See how to make hearty chicken noodle soup in just 30 minutes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States