Oriental Sesame Slaw Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2008
I loved this, it reminded me of a slaw I had in N.Y. at a very upscale restuarant.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2008
this was fantastic! I didn't have jicama but added some finely chopped onion. A little runny but maybe that was because I was little under on the mayo since I ran out...still great anyway!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SunnyByrd
Reviewed: May 18, 2008
VERY good! I 'matchsticked' my jicama instead of grating and added a little lime juice. Otherwise made as directed. We'll have this again - thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SunnyByrd
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2008
We loved this recipe! I used regular red radishes instead of the jimaca and I topped with some cruchy chinese noodles right before serving. Awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2008
Delicious. I could eat the whole thing! I made some changes, used one head green cabbage a and one head purple cabbage. Didn't have sesame seeds, so omitted that. Added one orange , chopped up. For the dressing I used half part mayonaise, half part plain yogurt, with a little bit of lime and orange juice added. So pretty and so good. I served it with Kalua oven pork. I am salivating just thinking about it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Moro, Oregon, USA
Living In: Exeter, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2009
Wow - I love this slaw! First time I have ever used jicama - not sure how necessary it is to this salad - pretty much tasteless to me - mine had the consistancy of a firm pear is the only way i can describe it. So I certainly wouldn't fret if you couldn't find one or didn't want to waste the money. I also couldn't find black sesame seeds so I just used toasted sesame seeds. I used low fat mayo and the dressing was still incredible. This slaw would be great on any kind of bbq sandwich or with a couple crab cakes perched on top which is what I used it for. All I can say is wowzer - will definately use this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Patti

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tacoma, Washington, USA
Living In: Lakewood, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2009
Awesome dressing in this slaw recipe! Just a tip: If you don't have sesame oil, don't even bother making this until you can get your hands on some. Sesame oil is super-packed with a nutty flavor (a little goes a long way) and without it, the dressing will be entirely different (i.e. bland!) than intended and will have virtually no Asian flavor at all. Great with a handful of toasted almonds tossed in!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Valerie's Kitchen
Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2009
I've lightened up the dressing by subbing 1/2 cup lowfat plain yogurt or lowfat sour cream and 1/2 cup light mayo and it was really good both ways. The dressing would be good on any combination of cole slaw ingredients you have on hand but I love the addition of jicama. I added some toasted slivered almonds, finely chopped red bell pepper, and green onions. I've also just added the dressing to the packaged cole slaw mix with a little chopped jicama. I found that scaling the recipe in half yields enough dressing for one bag of coleslaw mix. Fantastic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2009
I love this recipe. I did mess up because I was making the slaw and marinade for Ginger Glazed Mahi Mahi. I accidently put minced giner in the slaw. To remedy my error, I used half of all the veggies and doubled the sauce and sesame seeds. It tasted great even with the blunder.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2008
Oh my this was very tasty!! My kids don't like cole slaw but they loved this!! I'll never buy cheap cole slaw again. Thanks for sharing this recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Plainfield, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 48) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Broccoli Slaw

This easy broccoli salad will be a star at your next potluck or family dinner.

Sweet Restaurant Slaw

See how to make coleslaw just like the creamy restaurant slaw you love!

My Favorite Sesame Noodles

This Asian-inspired meal includes hot miso soup and ginger-dressed carrots.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States