Oriental Sesame Slaw Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2010
Awesome slaw! It has a sweet yet nutty flavor and was absolutely delicious! I used a bag of coleslaw mix, added a couple tsp. of lime juice and instead of grating the jicama I cut it into matchsticks. I didn't have black sesame seeds, so I toasted my regular ones and added it. This was a great side dish to grilled "Pork Tenderloin Marinade" from this site. This is a definite keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
75 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2009
Awesome dressing in this slaw recipe! Just a tip: If you don't have sesame oil, don't even bother making this until you can get your hands on some. Sesame oil is super-packed with a nutty flavor (a little goes a long way) and without it, the dressing will be entirely different (i.e. bland!) than intended and will have virtually no Asian flavor at all. Great with a handful of toasted almonds tossed in!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2008
Delicious. I could eat the whole thing! I made some changes, used one head green cabbage a and one head purple cabbage. Didn't have sesame seeds, so omitted that. Added one orange , chopped up. For the dressing I used half part mayonaise, half part plain yogurt, with a little bit of lime and orange juice added. So pretty and so good. I served it with Kalua oven pork. I am salivating just thinking about it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Moro, Oregon, USA
Living In: Exeter, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Valerie's Kitchen
Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2009
I've lightened up the dressing by subbing 1/2 cup lowfat plain yogurt or lowfat sour cream and 1/2 cup light mayo and it was really good both ways. The dressing would be good on any combination of cole slaw ingredients you have on hand but I love the addition of jicama. I added some toasted slivered almonds, finely chopped red bell pepper, and green onions. I've also just added the dressing to the packaged cole slaw mix with a little chopped jicama. I found that scaling the recipe in half yields enough dressing for one bag of coleslaw mix. Fantastic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful
Photo by SunnyByrd
Reviewed: May 18, 2008
VERY good! I 'matchsticked' my jicama instead of grating and added a little lime juice. Otherwise made as directed. We'll have this again - thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SunnyByrd
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2009
My mom makes coleslaw during the summer for cook-outs. She doesn't bother with making her own dressing and just uses store-bought dressing. It was always too strong of a taste for me - I never enjoyed the heaviness and stickiness of it. I've been meaning to find a recipe to make my own slaw dressing that doesn't shock the taste buds and is more refreshing and light, and I found the perfect opportunity to finally do it this week, when I saw bags of cole slaw on sale. I like to try unique recipes, so I decided to use this one. It came out really well, everything that I was looking for: not overpowering, refreshing, and a bit different from the usual slaw dressings. It had a great balance of sweet and tangy, but not strong, so it also gave a good balance of taste between the dressing and the vegetables. I really enjoyed the hint of a "nutty" flavor from the sesame oil and sesame seeds, and I absolutely love that this recipe uses honey. The proportion of dressing to salad was perfect in the recipe, as well. I did make some minor changes, but only because I didn't have some of the ingredients. I used white balsamic vinegar instead of rice vinegar, white sesame seeds instead of black, and I didn't have jicama. Not sure how much of a difference this made, but I was happy with the end result. I made the slaw a day ahead, and the flavors blended really well during this time in the fridge. Will make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2009
Wow - I love this slaw! First time I have ever used jicama - not sure how necessary it is to this salad - pretty much tasteless to me - mine had the consistancy of a firm pear is the only way i can describe it. So I certainly wouldn't fret if you couldn't find one or didn't want to waste the money. I also couldn't find black sesame seeds so I just used toasted sesame seeds. I used low fat mayo and the dressing was still incredible. This slaw would be great on any kind of bbq sandwich or with a couple crab cakes perched on top which is what I used it for. All I can say is wowzer - will definately use this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Patti

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tacoma, Washington, USA
Living In: Lakewood, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2011
My bad for using Napa cabbage as I think the problem was the dressing was too heavy for the delicacy of the Napa ... after ready reviews (looking for help and TY AR tasters!), I went back and added more jicama, only jullienned this time, not grated. That, along with a healthy dose of lime juice, brought it back to life. I also threw in some baby bok choy I had for additional crunch. I'd kill for some almonds right now!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Litegal1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anaheim, California, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2010
This was wonderful. I will certainly make it again. Served it with pulled pork sandwiches. I only used 1T of honey, which was perfect for our family; a little sweet but not too sweet. Also added chopped cilantro and green onion. I think next time I can cut back on the mayo. I'm sure it would be plenty good with less. Also, it only sat for an hour and was wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Weslaco, Texas, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2011
This is my favorite slaw I have ever made. It turned out fantastic I would highly recommend it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Claye

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 48) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Broccoli Slaw

This easy broccoli salad will be a star at your next potluck or family dinner.

Sweet Restaurant Slaw

See how to make coleslaw just like the creamy restaurant slaw you love!

How to Make Sesame Noodles

Learn how to make traditional cold sesame noodles in a tangy peanut sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States