Oriental Sesame Slaw Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2009
My mom makes coleslaw during the summer for cook-outs. She doesn't bother with making her own dressing and just uses store-bought dressing. It was always too strong of a taste for me - I never enjoyed the heaviness and stickiness of it. I've been meaning to find a recipe to make my own slaw dressing that doesn't shock the taste buds and is more refreshing and light, and I found the perfect opportunity to finally do it this week, when I saw bags of cole slaw on sale. I like to try unique recipes, so I decided to use this one. It came out really well, everything that I was looking for: not overpowering, refreshing, and a bit different from the usual slaw dressings. It had a great balance of sweet and tangy, but not strong, so it also gave a good balance of taste between the dressing and the vegetables. I really enjoyed the hint of a "nutty" flavor from the sesame oil and sesame seeds, and I absolutely love that this recipe uses honey. The proportion of dressing to salad was perfect in the recipe, as well. I did make some minor changes, but only because I didn't have some of the ingredients. I used white balsamic vinegar instead of rice vinegar, white sesame seeds instead of black, and I didn't have jicama. Not sure how much of a difference this made, but I was happy with the end result. I made the slaw a day ahead, and the flavors blended really well during this time in the fridge. Will make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2009
Served alongside pulled pork sandwiches and it was goooooood....even those who don't normally like cole slaw tried and loved this recipe. I probably won't ever make another version of slaw...I tooke the advice of another reviewer and matchsticked the jicama which added a great crunch. I used one purple & one green cabbage and it ended up being enough for a party of 20! Would definitely encourage making the day before as the taste gets better the longer it's allowed to marinate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erin K.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Flower Mound, Texas, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2009
i'm not sure if i had gotten some unusually large vegetables or what, but this made a ton of coleslaw. it was delicious, so i didn't mind, but i think it made a lot more than 8 servings. but whatever, it was excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2009
I love this recipe. I did mess up because I was making the slaw and marinade for Ginger Glazed Mahi Mahi. I accidently put minced giner in the slaw. To remedy my error, I used half of all the veggies and doubled the sauce and sesame seeds. It tasted great even with the blunder.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2009
Wow - I love this slaw! First time I have ever used jicama - not sure how necessary it is to this salad - pretty much tasteless to me - mine had the consistancy of a firm pear is the only way i can describe it. So I certainly wouldn't fret if you couldn't find one or didn't want to waste the money. I also couldn't find black sesame seeds so I just used toasted sesame seeds. I used low fat mayo and the dressing was still incredible. This slaw would be great on any kind of bbq sandwich or with a couple crab cakes perched on top which is what I used it for. All I can say is wowzer - will definately use this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Patti

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tacoma, Washington, USA
Living In: Lakewood, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2009
Nice side dish. I'm not convinced the jicama add all that much to the flavor though. Next time, I may try it with larger pieces instead of shredding it. But really, it's probably just fine without the jicama. This was a nice contrast to our spicy beef entree.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holly

Cooking Level: Expert

Photo by Valerie's Kitchen
Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2009
I've lightened up the dressing by subbing 1/2 cup lowfat plain yogurt or lowfat sour cream and 1/2 cup light mayo and it was really good both ways. The dressing would be good on any combination of cole slaw ingredients you have on hand but I love the addition of jicama. I added some toasted slivered almonds, finely chopped red bell pepper, and green onions. I've also just added the dressing to the packaged cole slaw mix with a little chopped jicama. I found that scaling the recipe in half yields enough dressing for one bag of coleslaw mix. Fantastic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2009
Awesome dressing in this slaw recipe! Just a tip: If you don't have sesame oil, don't even bother making this until you can get your hands on some. Sesame oil is super-packed with a nutty flavor (a little goes a long way) and without it, the dressing will be entirely different (i.e. bland!) than intended and will have virtually no Asian flavor at all. Great with a handful of toasted almonds tossed in!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2008
this was fantastic! I didn't have jicama but added some finely chopped onion. A little runny but maybe that was because I was little under on the mayo since I ran out...still great anyway!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2008
This was pretty good! I took a shortcut and used a bag slaw mix. I also used toasted sesame seeds (white) instead of black ones.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by buggymom

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Miami, Florida, USA
Living In: Fort Lauderdale, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 48) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Broccoli Slaw

This easy broccoli salad will be a star at your next potluck or family dinner.

Sweet Restaurant Slaw

See how to make coleslaw just like the creamy restaurant slaw you love!

My Favorite Sesame Noodles

This Asian-inspired meal includes hot miso soup and ginger-dressed carrots.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States