Oriental Hot 'n' Sour Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2004
I love hot n sour soup, but I really didn't like this recipe. The soup seemed to have a dirt taste to it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2001
This does make for a good chicken soup. However, this recipie has nothing to do with the Hot and Sour soup, not even remotely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2006
Not Authentic at all.Peppercorns and red bell pepper do not belong in hot and sour soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LISA 1212

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Spicer, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2005
I followed this recipe to the T, but something went wrong. I'm guessing it was the rice vinegar. As soon as I added it, the soup took on a horrible odor that permeated the house. My family wouldn't even try the soup. It tasted fine, if you could get past the smell.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2009
Not really like soup I've had in Chinese places. I only gave it 3 stars because I added so much extra stuff to bring it along. I added cooking sherry, soy sauce, bean sprouts and 1t chili paste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Olathe, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2004
This is a delicous hot and sour soup! It goes together fast and tastes authentic. It is a wonderful mix between veg soup and chili...AND it's low carb! I served it with Moo Shu Chicken Wraps and fortune cookies for an impromptu dinner party!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2003
This is a great simple oriental soup recipe. It is not like the Hot and Sour soup served in Chinese restaurants, but it is an excellent soup with a great oriental flavor. I left out the red bell pepper and added some water chestnuts and diced firm tofu; It came out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by carrieannro

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Poplar Grove, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Memphis, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Soup Loving Nicole
Reviewed: May 12, 2011
I added snow peas and rice because I like a hearty soup. I served this along side our main dish and have no complaints. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Soup Loving Nicole

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA
Living In: West Fork, Arkansas, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2006
I found it to be a nice soup, not quite like the ones in the restaurants. It is Low carb ( which is what i was looking for). I found that there was a bit too much rice vinegar for my taste- i will put in 25 mls instead. It is a good base to start with- i will be making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2006
Very good version of hot and sour soup. My husband liked this recipe for both the flavor and ease of making.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 21) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Chicken Thai Soup

See Chef John’s tasty version of spicy Thai chicken soup.

How To Make Miso Soup

Find out how easy it is to make miso soup at home.

Restaurant-Style Egg Drop Soup

This simple egg drop soup tastes like it came from your favorite restaurant.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States