Oriental Green Bean Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2006
This tastes even better than the green beans I usually get from Chinese restaurants! One suggestion: if you want it spicy, use extra peppers. I like to cut one open over the beans on my plate for maximum heat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2006
Hmmm...this wasn't bad, but it wasn't great. I don't agree with the statement that these are close to the restaurant version; I really don't think so. I used oyster sauce for the first time in this recipe. I will try to substitute it when called for in the future; I don't care for it. The remaining ingredients didn't really stand out, so if I make this again, I'll increase the amounts of everything and find something to replace the oyster sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2006
This is the closest to the restaurant version I have been able to find. It can be played with a little, I used Hoisin sauce instead of Oyster, because I had some in the fridge. I also used ground ginger instead of fresh and added a little more red pepper flakes. In an effort to make it more healthy, I pre-steamed the green beans slightly and dropped the oil amount to about a tsp. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Valerie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chetwynd, British Columbia, Canada
Living In: Harrisville, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LynnInHK
Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2005
Excellent, just like the way restaurants serve them, although in the restaurant version the beans are deep fried first until the skin's shriveled. I only used 2 tbsp of oil and added a spring onion along with the garlic and ginger.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LynnInHK

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Centreville, Virginia, USA
Living In: Hong Kong, Hong Kong Island, Hong Kong

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2005
Not amazing, just pretty good. Made double and it went mighty fast with 7 people eating. Put in red chili flakes but not enough to give it more than a little flavour and left out the oyster sauce as I discovered I didn't have any in the kitchen. Better than just steaming them by far.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2005
Really very good! I recommend using a light soy sauce, though. Fresh ginger is a must, in my opinion. I'm going to try this with other green veggies as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pottstown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Bonn, Nordrhein-Westfalen, Germany

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2004
This is good! A nice change and an interesting way to use green beans. Because of what I had on hand, I made some alterations -- ground instead of fresh ginger; pinch 'a cayenne instead of red chile pepper; and omitted the oyster sauce. Still a good side dish, and I will make again. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by APCOOKING

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Marmora, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2004
This was a nice change of pace from regular old green beans. I served this with Thai Style Chicken Pasta (from this site) which made for a nice spicy meal. I didn't use the oyster sauce and I used frozen chopped green beans, but it still turned out great. I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2003
Disappointing, I will not make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2002
Less soy sauce next time, too salty, but husband LOVED it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sakuraiiko

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Concord, California, USA
Living In: Martinez, California, USA

Displaying results 11-20 (of 23) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Mexican Food Fiesta
Mexican Food Fiesta

Go mild or go wild with Cinco de Mayo Recipes!

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Romano Bean Salad

See how to make a simple summer bean salad with garlic and mint dressing.

Black Bean and Couscous Salad

See how to make a Southwest-style couscous salad with a tangy vinaigrette.

Black Bean and Corn Salad II

See how to make a fresh, colorful Mexican-inspired salad and side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States