Oriental Green Bean Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2010
Really Good. I did cut back the Soy in 1/2 and it was perfect. A nice diversion from plain old green beans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ren

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2009
These are really great. I often cook green beans by quick sauteing them. I used dried red pepper flakes and low sodium soy sayce, but otherwise followed the recipe. I like oyster sauce very much, and I often try to find recipes to use it, but I didn't find the flavor overwhelming by any means. I really enjoyed these.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Paige

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by SunnyByrd
Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2008
These are gooood. I used flakes instead of a whole chili, and left out the soy altogether (I love oyster sauce and it's plenty salty without adding soy). Went great with Lime-Marinated Grilled Salmon from this site. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SunnyByrd
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2007
I will make this again! Love the oyster sauce! I used extra pepper for momre heat. Saucde didn't thicken for me, but that didn't affect the flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2006
Very good but not quite restraunt grade. I add extra pepper and ginger.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2006
This tastes even better than the green beans I usually get from Chinese restaurants! One suggestion: if you want it spicy, use extra peppers. I like to cut one open over the beans on my plate for maximum heat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2006
Hmmm...this wasn't bad, but it wasn't great. I don't agree with the statement that these are close to the restaurant version; I really don't think so. I used oyster sauce for the first time in this recipe. I will try to substitute it when called for in the future; I don't care for it. The remaining ingredients didn't really stand out, so if I make this again, I'll increase the amounts of everything and find something to replace the oyster sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2006
This is the closest to the restaurant version I have been able to find. It can be played with a little, I used Hoisin sauce instead of Oyster, because I had some in the fridge. I also used ground ginger instead of fresh and added a little more red pepper flakes. In an effort to make it more healthy, I pre-steamed the green beans slightly and dropped the oil amount to about a tsp. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Valerie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chetwynd, British Columbia, Canada
Living In: Harrisville, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LynnInHK
Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2005
Excellent, just like the way restaurants serve them, although in the restaurant version the beans are deep fried first until the skin's shriveled. I only used 2 tbsp of oil and added a spring onion along with the garlic and ginger.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LynnInHK

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Centreville, Virginia, USA
Living In: Hong Kong, Hong Kong Island, Hong Kong

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2005
Not amazing, just pretty good. Made double and it went mighty fast with 7 people eating. Put in red chili flakes but not enough to give it more than a little flavour and left out the oyster sauce as I discovered I didn't have any in the kitchen. Better than just steaming them by far.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 28) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Black Bean and Couscous Salad

See how to make a Southwest-style couscous salad with a tangy vinaigrette.

Romano Bean Salad

See how to make a simple summer bean salad with garlic and mint dressing.

Fava and Butter Bean Salad

A flavorful cold bean salad with garlic, lemon, roasted red pepper, and mint.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States