Oriental Dipping Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2008
My family loved this sauce with the lettuce wraps from this site. I added 2 extra tablespoons of water and 1/4 t sugar because it is awful salty...but still good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2008
Very good sauce to use with the "Asian Lettuce Wraps."
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2008
The sauce was boss, man it was so good, i put it on my asain lettuce wraps, the best dinner ever. Loved the sauce perfect addition to that recipe thank you
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tonit22

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Downers Grove, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2008
I thought this was very very salty. I added an extra tsp of brown sugar to try to counterbalance the saltiness. It helped a little but really it just tasted like fancy soy sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nicki Caudill

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Van Lear, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2007
this recipes is awesome... i make it all the time when i make the ' Asian lettuce warps' from this site... they are a great combo.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nichole

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Schaumburg, Illinois, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2007
Increased the sasame oil and Hoisin a bit - to die for!!! Easily better than any jar sauce - easily worth the effort.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ron

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Saint-Lazare, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2007
I loved this recipe, exactly what I was looking for to go with steamed dumplings. My bf said it was a little salty for his taste, but I think it could be altered with a little more of the hoisen sauce, will definately make again and next time maybe play around with ingredients a little for him. ***I made this again and changed my rating to 5 stars! As with almost any sauce recipe it can be altered to your taste. I used a full teaspoon of the toasted sesame oil, extra garlic, more onion, an additional tablespoon of the Hoisin and a full teaspoon of sugar. It is exceptional, and really cut down the 'salty' of the soy sauce***
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BELFLOREK

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Maple Grove, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Keller, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2007
I don't know what went wrong, I followed the recipe and ended up with a salty seasame sauce that I didn't care for at all. I will not make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mom_of_2

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kent, Ohio, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MOLLE888
Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2007
Delicious served with Vietnamese Salad Rolls from this site! Don't need to change a thing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MOLLE888

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bethesda, Maryland, USA
Living In: Fairfax, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2007
This was very good! Yes, pretty salty even with low sodium soy sauce. But salty in a good way! I guess you just have to remember a little goes a long way when using this sauce! Will make again and again when serving Asian! Thanks a lot!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MATTSBELLY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 129) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Vietnamese Spring Rolls with Dipping Sauce

See how to make beautiful Vietnamese spring rolls.

Blooming Onion and Dipping Sauce

This crispy, batter-fried onion with zesty dipping sauce gets the party going.

Sweet and Sour Sauce I

A traditional sweet and sour sauce for meatballs, tempura, egg rolls, and more.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States