Oriental Dipping Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2008
I know I'm going to be in the minority here when I say that I did not care for this sauce. It is far too overpowering.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Idaho Falls, Idaho, USA
Living In: Rigby, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2008
Not my favorite dipping sauce, but pretty good. Perhaps it was not the best was due to my substitution of sweet & sour over hoisin sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2008
This is a great sauce IF made with low-sodium soy sauce. I made it the first time with regular soy sauce and it's just too salty. For lettuce wraps, dim sum, dumplings or spring rolls, it's great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2008
This was great! I added about 3 Tbsp. (eyeballed it) water to make a thinner sauce for dipping lettuce wraps & spring rolls--this also cut the salt that others have complained about. I served this cold, and it was a nice refreshing touch to the rest of the meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2008
Really tasty sauce. Especially good with the Asian Lettuce Wraps from this site. I did double it and added a little more sugar and water, since it's pretty salty. Even my husband, who loves salt, said it was a bit too salty. Next time I will use low sodium soy sauce too. Otherwise really good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by thisgurlluvs2cook

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2008
I can't imagine an Oriental meal which *won't* be positively enhanced by this exceptional sauce. I, too, recently served it with Asian Lettuce Wraps from this site. My one suggestion is to double the recipe -- if your experience is like mine, family and guests will make short work of the sauce. Thanks, Jackie and All Recipes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Barcelona, Cataluna, Spain
Living In: Anacortes, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2008
My family loved this sauce with the lettuce wraps from this site. I added 2 extra tablespoons of water and 1/4 t sugar because it is awful salty...but still good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2008
Very good sauce to use with the "Asian Lettuce Wraps."
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2008
The sauce was boss, man it was so good, i put it on my asain lettuce wraps, the best dinner ever. Loved the sauce perfect addition to that recipe thank you
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tonit22

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Downers Grove, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2008
I thought this was very very salty. I added an extra tsp of brown sugar to try to counterbalance the saltiness. It helped a little but really it just tasted like fancy soy sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nicki Caudill

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Van Lear, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 125) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Vietnamese Spring Rolls with Dipping Sauce

See how to make beautiful Vietnamese spring rolls.

Blooming Onion and Dipping Sauce

This crispy, batter-fried onion with zesty dipping sauce gets the party going.

Sweet and Sour Sauce I

A traditional sweet and sour sauce for meatballs, tempura, egg rolls, and more.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States