Oriental Dipping Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2010
Very good- the perfect dipping sauce for the pot stickers traditional from this site. I probably could have halved it, though. I made once according to the recipe and then this last time I didn't have any green onions so I subbed a little onion powder. Also, we prefer it as a cold sauce. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2010
Wow! This tastes exactly like the dipping sauce that comes with the dumplings from my local Chinese take out place. The stuff is awesome. I used rice wine vinegar in place of the water. I will defintely be making this again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: May 9, 2010
An excellent dipping sauce for potstickers/gyoza! I didn't have any hoisin, and added a little rice vinegar, but otherwise did everything the same. It didn't make very much - which is good for just DH and I, but you may want to double for larger groups. I made it the night before and all the flavors combined really well - and it smells SOOO good!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Griffin10

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Danville, California, USA
Living In: Walnut Creek, California, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2010
This sauce was just ok. It did not wow me with any distinct flavor. Will continue to look for another better sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Risa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2010
This was pretty good... we dipped our dumplings in it and it worked pretty nicely with them. I didn't love the flavor by itself, however. I thought it was very sweet, and didn't have much depth of flavor. I couldn't figure out exactly what it needed... it worked well for the dish, thus 4 stars, but I don't think I'll make it again. Thanks though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Heidelberg, Baden-Württemberg, Germany
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2010
This was pretty good. I dipped store bought vegetarian egg rolls and pot stickers. It tasted most like hoisin sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BECKY R

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Palmer, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Chicopee, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2010
Perfect! I just added honey verus the sugar. I also added a dash of fish sauce-yummy! I used this sauce with the lettuce wraps. What a hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2010
I thought this sauce was really good -- it's pretty salty and goes well with oriental food. I didn't use the hoisin sauce but added a little bit of honey, apple cider vinegar, chili powder, and cornstarch instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2010
I served this with pot stickers from this site, and although they stuck to the pan (ironic, I know) and looked horrible, this sauce made them taste great anyway. I think this will also be what my lettuce wraps are missing. Very versatile.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jamie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Reese, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2010
Was great - served with mini vegetarian egg rolls as an appetizer for a new years party and everyone enjoyed
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PavlodarSwede

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Richmond, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 125) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Vietnamese Spring Rolls with Dipping Sauce

See how to make beautiful Vietnamese spring rolls.

Blooming Onion and Dipping Sauce

This crispy, batter-fried onion with zesty dipping sauce gets the party going.

Sweet and Sour Sauce I

A traditional sweet and sour sauce for meatballs, tempura, egg rolls, and more.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States