Oriental Dipping Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2014
I had this with some steamed dumplings, and it was great! I replaced the water with rice vinegar and used brown sugar, adding a bit more. Also added a few shakes of garlic and onion powder. I would cut back slightly on the hoisin sauce, just a personal preference. An easy recipe that will complement any kind of Asian food. Thanks Jackie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2014
Excellent recipe - although at times I'm a little casual about the measurements. Thank you Jackie !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2014
Love this dipping sauce. I use it as a stir fry sauce with bean thread noodles and some chopped veggies as well as a dipping sauce for potstickers. It is amazing and very versatile. Make a double batch it is that good! thanks for a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2014
This is a great recipe. Easy and a great addition to my sauce collections. I didn't have hoisin sauce so I added 1/2 teaspoon peanut butter, 1/4 teaspoon rice vinegar, and 1/4 teaspoon molasses easy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2014
This was good, the guys loved it, but it was not my favorite. Maybe I do not like hoisin sauce as much as I thought I did, as I felt that it was very strong in this. I did like the thickness of it tho. I did add more sugar than called for after tasting it and a bit of sirracha sauce for some kick. This was fine for our steamed dumplings tonight. Thanks for sharing. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2014
Flavours were very good! Will be making again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2014
Awesome dipping sauce! I used low sodium soy sauce and added an extra TBSP of water just to thin it a bit more after it had sat in the fridge for a few hours and really thicken up. With the extra TBSP of water it was the perfect consistency ford
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sesser, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2013
I agree with Glorytofaith. Did the same thing and only then did I read that review.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2013
Inedibly salty. I generally only make recipes with 4+ stars, so I thought this would be great. I was very disappointed. It turned out to be a salty, sesame dip rather than the traditional, sweeter dumpling sauce. I honestly couldn't even think of a way to salvage the dish, so I plan to try a completely different recipe. Glad I made it ahead of time so that I could change plans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mommyluvs2cook
Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2012
Liked this, but wish it had a little more sweetness to it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mommyluvs2cook

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Santa Fe, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 129) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Vietnamese Spring Rolls with Dipping Sauce

See how to make beautiful Vietnamese spring rolls.

Blooming Onion and Dipping Sauce

This crispy, batter-fried onion with zesty dipping sauce gets the party going.

Sweet and Sour Sauce I

A traditional sweet and sour sauce for meatballs, tempura, egg rolls, and more.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States