Oriental Cold Noodle Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2006
This was awesome!!! I couldn't stop eating it..well I had to make myself stop. I am looking forward to tomorrow when I can eat the leftovers!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2006
I made this salad with Vietnamese rice noodles. Also, served over a large piece of green leaf lettuce; added color and a little crunch! VERY GOOD, this recipe is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2006
This was fantastic. I did it the Japanese way, so I left out the peanuts and cilantro and added seseme seeds. I accidentally forgot the pepper flakes, but will definatly add them next time. Perfect with a rare steak. Great summertime dish, and I can see myself making the sauce for salads and wraps in the future.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sebastian, Florida, USA
Living In: Portland, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2006
I love this recipe. I took some suggestions from the others and added green onions, reduced the rice vinegar, omitted the peanuts and doubled the noodles. Wasn't saucy but wasn't too dry either. Just right. Some reviews had mushy noodles. I suggest using the dry packaged Soba noodles in the Oriental section of your supermarket. The soggy noodles may be caused by using the refrigerated soba noodles. I will be making this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2006
I doubled this recipe and it tasted great! Pretty spicy some said. I added more peanuts for flavor (may be good with a thai-peanut sauce)and more carrots. A friend said she would buy it at the store, so I think I will be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2005
Wow!! This is a great summer dish This has all the yin/yang qualities: sweet and sour, crisp and smooth, green and orange. My wife HATES cilantro: and yet, with the lime, she loved it. I used panchit noodles, but that was the only variation. This is easy to prpeare, and can be made ahead of time Tahnks, Christiana , for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2005
I give this 5 stars for the dressing alone. I have been trying to figure out how to duplicate the dressing which I've had on a similar salad and this hit the spot. That said, you should know that I "modified" it a bit. I used approx 3 Tbsp of lime juice, no zest, 1 Tbsp of white sugar and no garlic (husband hates it). The pepper flakes were a nice touch and you could also use Chinese chili (red) oil for some heat. To make it a dinner salad, I took precooked chicken, tossed it in some soy sauce and about 1/2 tsp of grated fresh ginger and added that, along with a couple of finely chopped green onions. I served it on a bed of chopped romaine lettuce. YUMMY! Thanks so much for the dressing - you made my day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
95 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2005
This salad was great. It had a fantastic flavor. I didn't use lime zest. So, it wasn't overpowering.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2006
THis was a hit with 6 children and adults alike! I left out the lime zest (didn't seem to be missing). Used the juice of a whole small lime. The peanuts were great for crunch. Also left out pepper flakes and added a touch of homegrown red pepper (cayenne). Used ramen (5 packs) instead of soba (not overcooking these is the key). Did splash with some soy and rice vinegar again before serving to not serve so dry. Makes a LOT! Still really good the next day! Thanks for a great recipe. We will use this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sally S.
Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2006
Delicious! I couldn't find soba noodles so I settled for angel hair, and it worked great. I love lime and garlic so I increased it to 3 cloves, and made sure to include all the juice and zest of 1 lime despite other reviews. I also added a little more cilantro than called for. It does make a lot, but for a party I would probably double it. I only put in 1/2 tsp. of red pepper flakes, and that gave it just enough kick for me. Update- I made this again, with soba noodles found at my local grocery. They were ones made from buckwheat flour! I added a little more rice vinegar and soy sauce because I remembered it needed more moisture last time, but the soba noodles don't absorb as much as the angel hair, so there was too much liquid. It is still delicious though! I added some green onion this time too, and omitted the nuts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sally S.

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 146) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Shanghai Noodle Salad

See how to make a delicious cold noodle salad.

Broccoli and Ramen Noodle Salad

Crunchy, savory and sweet combination of broccoli, ramen noodles, seeds, and nuts

Spicy Rice Noodle Salad

See how to make a simple, spicy and delicious rice noodle salad.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States