Oriental Cold Noodle Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2005
Wow!! This is a great summer dish This has all the yin/yang qualities: sweet and sour, crisp and smooth, green and orange. My wife HATES cilantro: and yet, with the lime, she loved it. I used panchit noodles, but that was the only variation. This is easy to prpeare, and can be made ahead of time Tahnks, Christiana , for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2005
I give this 5 stars for the dressing alone. I have been trying to figure out how to duplicate the dressing which I've had on a similar salad and this hit the spot. That said, you should know that I "modified" it a bit. I used approx 3 Tbsp of lime juice, no zest, 1 Tbsp of white sugar and no garlic (husband hates it). The pepper flakes were a nice touch and you could also use Chinese chili (red) oil for some heat. To make it a dinner salad, I took precooked chicken, tossed it in some soy sauce and about 1/2 tsp of grated fresh ginger and added that, along with a couple of finely chopped green onions. I served it on a bed of chopped romaine lettuce. YUMMY! Thanks so much for the dressing - you made my day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
86 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2005
I used 1 lb. angel hair pasta because I didn't have the soba noodles, and they worked very well. I omitted the cilantro. Found the recipe to be tasty, but the vinegar taste was strong. If I made it again, I would reduce the amount of wine vinegar. A fresh tasting recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
57 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2005
The combination of ingredients sounded good. The initial taste was okay, but I found the recipe to be a little too tart. Since my husband does not care for soba noodles, I tried substituting the soba with ramen. Unfortunately, the noodles became mushy and tasteless. Sorry not a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2005
This salad was great. It had a fantastic flavor. I didn't use lime zest. So, it wasn't overpowering.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2006
THis was a hit with 6 children and adults alike! I left out the lime zest (didn't seem to be missing). Used the juice of a whole small lime. The peanuts were great for crunch. Also left out pepper flakes and added a touch of homegrown red pepper (cayenne). Used ramen (5 packs) instead of soba (not overcooking these is the key). Did splash with some soy and rice vinegar again before serving to not serve so dry. Makes a LOT! Still really good the next day! Thanks for a great recipe. We will use this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2006
This was fantastic. I did it the Japanese way, so I left out the peanuts and cilantro and added seseme seeds. I accidentally forgot the pepper flakes, but will definatly add them next time. Perfect with a rare steak. Great summertime dish, and I can see myself making the sauce for salads and wraps in the future.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sebastian, Florida, USA
Living In: Portland, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2006
Nice, easy recipe but I think it would be a lot simpler to break the noodles into 3" pieces than cut them after they are cooked! I'd try this recipe again with maybe some green onions for color. UPDATE: I made this again with cold whole wheat spaghetti and it worked great. Also added some peas and grilled chicken to make it a whole meal. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NOELLER67

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2006
This was delicious and not too difficult to make... awesome leftovers for lunch!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lamos79

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Waterbury, Vermont, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2006
Hmmm. I must have either had an extra-large and juicy lime or not enough noodles (probably both), because the lime was too strong in this dish. I made the Japanese variation with nori, and the flavor was very good, but next time I'll start with half a lime. I also think the lime probably goes better with the original version, so I'll try that, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KymInNM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Central Point, Oregon, USA
Living In: Santa Fe, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 135) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Rice Noodle Salad

See how to make a simple, spicy and delicious rice noodle salad.

Yuba Noodle Salad

A yuba "noodle" and cabbage salad with a flavorful peanut dressing.

Thai Cucumber Salad

Learn how to make this delicate cucumber salad, full of Thai flavors.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States