Oriental Cold Noodle Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2011
Absolutely wonderful recipe. I will definitely make this all year. I did cut back on the red pepper flakes as that I don't like things too spicy and 1/2 tsp. was perfect for me. The only thing that I would have to be critical of and that is: what is this about cooking the noodles and then cutting them in 3" lengths?? Just break the suckers in half and cook them. Seemed like a totally waste of time step to do it that way. Anyway, Christiana thank you for sharing, great recipe!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Omaha, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2011
Yummy! The dressing is awesome. I used only 9 ounces of soba noodles as it's just for me, but kept the dressing amount the same. Only other change was to add in some freshly grated ginger. I will definitely make this again. Thank you for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2011
This was very tangy and good. I also added ground sesame seed to enhance the flavor more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ann Arbor, Michigan, USA
Living In: Sunnyvale, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2011
I LOVE cold sesame noodles. I was not impressed by this recipe. I agree with other raters, the flavor wasn't balanced and there was too much vinegar/lime juice. I added a bunch more sesame oil and some tahini to try to mitigate the sourness. That helped, but.... Still on the search for a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2011
Great! I used spaghetti . I also made twice the amount of sauce, ending at the lime juice. I added yellow peps(we love peepers) and I also added green onion and snap eas(our peas were ready to eat). It was a very god salad. My husband des not like the flavor of peanut butter iin salads and this wasn't too nutty. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NICKI61

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Wolcott, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2010
I needed a recipe for a potluck, but I was leaving the house a few hours beforehand and the facility had nowhere to heat a dish, so this fit the bill. I used buckwheat soba and got many, many compliments on the dish. Two people asked for the recipe. One thing I was wondering, though... Would it make any difference to break up the soba noodles before cooking? It was awfully sloppy to try to chop them into smaller lengths after they cooked, as the instructions called for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2010
the balance of flavors is off. There is too much lime and vinegar--it's actually quite sour. Next time I will reduce the amount of these two ingredients and I think it will be fantastic. Maybe add more soy sauce and sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2010
Used lo mein rather than soba noodles (store didn't carry.) Other than that, kept the recipe as indicated. My family LOVED this dish, which I served alongside asian lettuce wraps.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mommymeggy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2010
Delish! I like the combination of flavors. The only small change I made was to add a bit less vinegar (I was just shy of 1/3 cup). I did like the peanuts toasted sesame seeds would work well, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: College Park, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2010
Very good! I omitted the peanuts and added peas and toasted sesame seeds. This recipe is a keeper for my bento lunches!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jana

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dannemora, New York, USA

Displaying results 61-70 (of 141) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Shanghai Noodle Salad

See how to make a delicious cold noodle salad.

Broccoli and Ramen Noodle Salad

Crunchy, savory and sweet combination of broccoli, ramen noodles, seeds, and nuts

Spicy Rice Noodle Salad

See how to make a simple, spicy and delicious rice noodle salad.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States