Oriental Cold Noodle Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2011
This salad was very flavorful but I was not fond of the flavor combination. No one would eat these, but I think my family prefers more of the brown sugar/soy sauce/garlic flavor combinations in Asian cooking instead of the cilantro/lime/sesame oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by In My LIfe

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2011
Delicious. I scaled the recipe down to 6 servings, which still called for the juice of 1 lime. It was a bit too much- cut back next time. Some finely shredded cabbage and fresh edamame made a nice addition. Served with Korean cucumber salad (YUM) from Bittman's Vegetarian book.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2011
Delicious, exactly what I was looking. I wanted a salad, that did not have a creamy peanut butter base. Here are the changes I made, I used 1lb of cappelini, no lime zest, and 1/2 of lime juice, no cilantro. I also added diced red pepper to the pasta as well as toasted sesame seeds, chopped peanuts and grated carrots. Lastly I use about a teaspoon of "Sambal Oelek", an Asian chili paste, that gives it spice. My whole family loves this dish
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2011
Made this as per the recipe except I used lime juice instead of juice and zest and I used red chili paste instead of flakes cause I have a great gourmet one on hand. Was very good. Made the sauce first and let it refrigerate while I went out and got noodles. Let it all sit together for about 20 mins before serving. Was great the next two days. Added chicken the first night I did in Soy and Sweet Thai Chili sauce. Like other reviewers I added green onions and extra veggies. Could add anything to this - very nice. And I had lots of sauce night of and for leftovers although I think my store sold Soba noodles in 12oz packs, not 15oz. Only four stars because while it tasted great, I don't have the urge to make this weekly, even during this hot summer weather.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alexis

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Campbell River, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2011
Very good basic recipe. Can add lots of things to enhance like shrimp, peas, celery.......Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 8BARRSTREET

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2011
OMG YUM! Soo good, followed recipe exactly but omitted the cilantro - perfect! Thank you for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2011
Too vinegary. I'm looking for a different one. Sorry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SARAH_ANNEJ

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Madison, Iowa, USA
Living In: Burlington, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2011
This was ok. I wouldn't recommend making it with ramen noodles. It just tastes like overpriced top ramen. Maybe with other noodles it would be better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tumwater, Washington, USA
Living In: Rochester, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2011
So good! I did take the suggestions to cut back on the lime. Definitely will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bonusformom

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2011
Absolutely wonderful recipe. I will definitely make this all year. I did cut back on the red pepper flakes as that I don't like things too spicy and 1/2 tsp. was perfect for me. The only thing that I would have to be critical of and that is: what is this about cooking the noodles and then cutting them in 3" lengths?? Just break the suckers in half and cook them. Seemed like a totally waste of time step to do it that way. Anyway, Christiana thank you for sharing, great recipe!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Omaha, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

Displaying results 51-60 (of 140) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Shanghai Noodle Salad

See how to make a delicious cold noodle salad.

Spicy Rice Noodle Salad

See how to make a simple, spicy and delicious rice noodle salad.

Easy Cold Pasta Salad

Watch how easy it is to make this pasta salad with fresh tomatoes and cucumbers.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States