Oriental Cold Noodle Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2008
delicious and simple! lends itself to many variations--add meat or tofu, more veggies, etc. holds well for a day or two.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Garberville, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2008
I've been looking for a recipe like this to duplicate a salad we buy in our local deli. This recipe is even better and so much less expensive to make myself. I followed the recipe exactly the first time and after that I used pasta instead of soba noodles. It's so easy and delicious. Thank you!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Leslie Sullivan
Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2008
The dressing for this salad is delicious. I add about a tablespoon of Mirin to the dressing which cuts down on the dryness as well. I like more vegetables in this salad. My favorite it to add julienned daikon radish and whole sugar snap peas. I have also added small pieces of aspragus, although they are not so oriental. If you add too many more veggies, you need to make a little more dressing, though. I have made this recipe with salmon, doubled the dressing recipe and used it to marinate the salmon to have the flavors pull through in another dish. It was wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leslie Sullivan

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Estacada, Oregon, USA
Living In: Hood River, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2008
Better than what I buy in our local deli! I have been trying to find a recipe like this for several years and this is the one. I omitted the peanuts and carrots and added a little more brown sugar. Also, I just used whole wheat angel hair pasta.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2008
I loved this super easy dish. I ended up adding a little more garlic, sesame oil and we used tamari sauce instead of soy. I let it sit in the fridge for several hours and kept adding the sesame and tamari to taste. As is, it tasted a bit too much like lime. Thanks for the great salad. I will be making it very often!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2008
I fixed this for a potluck at the beach over Mem Day weekend and it was a hit. I left out the peanuts because of a peanut allergy, used buckwheat soba noodles and brown rice vinegar because that's what I had. I don't know how that might've made this different but everyone liked it as it came out. Even my two year old chowed it though she did guzzle a lot of juice when she hit a pepper flake. Definitely need to "meld" in the fridge for awhile first. An hour was good... can't wait to see how it turns out if I leave it in longer. I did break the noodles (actually into 4" as mine were 8" long) before putting in the pot and it worked great. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shef W

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Kenmore, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2008
Pretty good recipe. I made it with spaghetti noodles instead, since I didn't have soba noodles. I added some sauteed chicken breast to it as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2008
Super yummy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2008
YES!! this is the sauce you've been looking for! mine is still cooling in the fridge, but i had a little sneak taste and it is wonderful, didn't change a thing. perfect, thanks for submitting. UPDATE: ive made this over and over; add your favourite peppers onions and mushrooms for a refreshing crunchy salad!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bijoux

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lethbridge, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2008
I made this last week to take to a friend's house, as she was making Asian grilled tuna steak salad. I ended up having to use the thin rice noodles because I couldn't find soba, but it was still really good. They absorbed all the liquid and needed more, so I ended up doubling the sauce ingredients. This is sooo tasty -- it's good cold or warm.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 126) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Rice Noodle Salad

See how to make a simple, spicy and delicious rice noodle salad.

Thai Cucumber Salad

Learn how to make this delicate cucumber salad, full of Thai flavors.

How to Make Macaroni Salad

This classic macaroni salad recipe is the ideal side for picnics and barbeques.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States