Oriental Asparagus Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2012
I steamed one 6 ounce (pricked) bag in the microwave for 2:30. 1 T. low sodium soy sauce, 1 tsp. sesame oil; 1 tsp. red wine vinegar; 1/8 tsp. ginger and 1/8 tsp. cumin. I omitted the sugar and sesame seeds. Yummy warm or cold!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Carlisle, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Colonial Heights, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2011
I would advise anyone making this dish to use sesame oil in place of vegetable oil. I used rice wine vinegar. This makes a good side dish and can be served either warm or cold.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2011
I serve this as a standard salad all through the summer. I have made multiple changes through doubling the recipe. I used 1 lb of asparagus (prepared as stated) then add 1 lb of raw sugar snap peas (trimmed). I also use 1 tbs of vegetable oil and 1 tbs of sesame oil. I substitute rice wine vinegar for standard vinegar. I then forego the ginger and cumin- this leaves a very fresh and popular salad. I also only use low sodium soy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2011
Tasty.. I added water chesnuts and some sauted cabbage because I didn't have enough asparagus. :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linda Trem

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Jose, California, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2011
easy to put together and throw in the fridge
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Palmtreegoddess

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2010
This recipe was nice enough for a change, especially as we've been eating a lot of asparagus lately. It's missing the 'wow' factor though and I probably won't make it again. I substituted coriander powder for cumin as I thought the inclusion of cumin was a little strange (no offence!), and vegetable oil for sesame oil and rice wine vinegar for vinegar on the advice of another reviewer. I only marinated this for 10 minutes though so maybe that was the issue. Overall it was ok and I appreciated the chance to try something new :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2010
Super easy and good! My friends and family loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2010
This was so good!!! I halved the soy sauce and used Szechuan sauce for part of it. Gave it a little kick... Also, I didn't have ginger, so I used Chinese 5 spice. It was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kennewick, Washington, USA
Living In: Northfield, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2009
This was okay. The cumin was very pronounced tasting in mine, so it didn't taste as "oriental" as I thought it should/would. I also thought it tasted much better while warm than cold. Next time I make this I think I will omit the cumin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Richmond, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Waco, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2009
Delicious! I followed the recipe exactly and it is wonderful. We love asparagus, but were getting tired of steamed or grilled. This salad is perfect. Very quick to prepare and it's yummy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 17) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States