OREO Mini PHILLY Cheesecakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2010
These are very tasty and quick to make. A good treat for adults and kids alike. However, I gave it 3 stars because the Oreo cookie did not soften after baking. In fact, it was just as crunchy and hard after baking as it was before baking. Next time I will try soaking the cookies in milk or maybe even warm coffee (if serving to adults) to see if this makes a difference. The alternative would be to use Oreo crumbs and make your own crust. Another lesson learned, is go ahead and fill the cupcake liner with batter almost until the top. I filled mine 2/3 of the way and the batter did not rise as much as I would have liked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
82 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by bakergirl91
Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2011
i altered this recipe to make 24 mini cheesecakes. I lined a mini muffin pan with liners and added just enough crushed oreos (12 regular sized crushed in a ziploc bag with a rolling pin) to cover the bottom. I halved the filling and it made just enough to fill all 24 liners to the top. I added a splash of vanilla to the filling as well and only cooked it for about 12 minutes, or until it was almost set. I topped them off with one mini oreo each, and it took almost the whole box of Snack Packs to do the job, as each baggie only had about 9 cookies in it :( overall, i was really pleased with how they turned out. Can't wait to eat them this weekend at a friend's party!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
76 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bakergirl91

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Westlock, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2011
These are pretty good. I wouldn't soak the cookie or crush them and mix the crumbs with butter. That takes away the ease of this recipe. I was done with this in no time. Drop the cookie, fill the cups. And to me the cookies aren't too hard. They're not super soft, but they're not hard like they were just taken out of the package, either. I didn't mess with melting chocolate or cool whip. I just crushed some oreos on the batter. I'm docking this because the cheesecake part, which is pretty much the most important part, is pretty much flavorless. It needs something. Vanilla? I'll keep the oreo bottom idea, but find a different cheesecake recipe to fill it with.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
61 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Owosso, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2011
This recipe is very good, but like others suggested, I added 1tsp of vanilla to give the cheesecake that extra flavor missing. Remember, cheesecake doesn’t really rise, so fill your cups pretty full. After reading other reviews, I was expecting the cookie to be extremely hard. I dont know if it was because I used generic oreos, or if it was because I made them the night before, but my cookie was very soft. Also, to simplify the process even more, I used Smucher’s Magic Shell ice cream topping for the chocolate drizzle. After I baked them, I let them set for about 10mins, drizzled the MagicShell on top, then refrigerated overnight. Topping looked just as good and a lot less work. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2010
HEAVEN!!!!!! This it the type of cheesecake that is thick and creamy, not that light fluffy . i made these for my boyfriend when he came over for dinner, and mind you he is just like a critic, he absolutly loved them. When i made these instead of putting a whole cookie on the bottom i crushed oreos and patted them down, I also crushed chocklate chip cookies and patted it down. I will deffinetly use this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2010
Took these to work and to Friends' Thanksgiving (when we feast with our closest friends) and everyone raved about them! Oreo cookies make a delicious and creative base (not a boring Nilla wafer) and while the cheesecakes sunk quite a bit, I just spooned some Cool Whip on top and sprinkled with crushed Oreo cookies. Pretty and tasty without over-indulging!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2010
I was seriously craving cheesecake last night but all I had was one package of cream cheese and some oreos. I halved the recipe to make 6 and since I had no patience to wait 3 hours for it to cool I stuck them in the freezer for a bit. I didn't bother with the cool whip or chocolate drizzle (since I planned on scarfing 3 before bed) and I STILL give this recipe a 5. Easy to make and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CASSIEG3

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2011
2 packages of cream cheese will make way more than a dozen cheesecakes. I had a package opened with half remaining and I got 8 cheesecakes out of one half package of creamcheese. I stirred in a little vanilla and strawberry jam for extra flavor and topped with mini chocolate chips rather than melting chocolate. I baked for 22 minutes and they were perfectly done. The Oreos were not hard. They look cute in Christmas baking cups. I'm going to make them again for Christmas Eve.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2011
I love the idea of the cookie on the bottom. The whole thing took me about 2 minutes to make. I used and extra 1/4 cup sugar 2 tsp vanilla and a 1/2 cup chocolate chips. If you make them without muffin cups the cookie is a better consistency.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ShayLovesSugar

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Riverside, California, USA
Living In: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2012
Did not care for these at all. I guess my hopes were to high. Not like a regular cheesecake at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by footballgrl16

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 90) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Mini Cheesecakes I

These cheesecakes are both impressive and super easy.

Mini Philly Cheese Steak

See how to make tiny cheese steak appetizers.

Cheesecake Pops

Watch how to make perfectly sweet cheesecake pops.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States