Oreo™ Cookie Cake II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2008
Yikes - this time it was different - I have made this recipe many times over with fabulous results - this last time I used generic oreo cookies and it significantly didn't taste as good. I didn't tell my family and they noticed something wasn't quite the same right off the bat (they said it was OK but not as good). Advice: use only Oreos or Hydrox/Sunshine cookies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2010
Delightful! As Hubs put it, a real collage of flavors and textures what with the moist cake, crunchy Oreos, creamy chocolate chips and sweet, gooey glaze. I used a pound cake mix as I believe it tastes more homemade and has less of that artificial flavor yellow cake mixes have (a French Vanilla cake mix would have been a fine choice too). I reserved some of the Oreos for the top, leaving them in bigger chunks. It's a pretty cake, striking with it's layering and sharp black and white colors, interesting and really very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2001
This is WONDERFUL!! A new favorite at our house!! I used a Butter Recipe Chocolate Cake (the ONLY butter recipe cake mix I could find), and rather than making their glaze, I just served it with vanilla ice-cream with chocolate syrup on BOTH! WOW!! YUUUUMMMMMYYYYY !! (I used it for my son's 4th birthday party, with a construction theme and it was GREAT because it looks like dirt on top, and we used construction truck candles on top! PERFECT!) I'm not a chocaholic, but I sure like this one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2004
Oreos are one of my favorite foods, and this cake is another one of the amazing things that you can do with them! I used a chocolate butter cake mix, and extra semi-sweet chocolate chips. The cake was extremely moist and so very rich. I made the cake for a party, and it was complemented all night. Everyone begs me for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2003
Great! It disappeared fast. The only change I made was, I put ALL of the cookie crumbs into the middle and then frosted the cake with chocolate frosting. Try it also with chocolate cake mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2009
Very chocolaty and sweet! Used Duncan Hines Chocolate Butter Cake mix, and followed recipe exactly, except I used Double Stuff Oreos and extra chocolate chips. Everyone loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2006
At the advice of some other reviewers, I used chocolate butter recipe cake mix (Betty Crocker) and "slipped" and put in an extra hand-full of chocolate chips. I used a majority of the cookie crumb mixture in the middle of the cake and the rest functioned as more of a garnishment on the top. I also made a splash of extra glaze. The cake came out awesome, but not to excessive fanfare, due to it being rather rich after a big meal. It tastes JUST LIKE the Krispy Kreme devil's food doughnuts, and therefore I would suggest this to go well with coffee. When I make it again, I will definitely make more glaze, though. (Hint: Poke holes with the handle of a fork in the cake before pouring the glaze... awesome!) Great, easy recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2007
Yummy, but needs chocolate flavored cake and more glaze.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SHMANESSA8

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2005
This cake had no flavor. I was expecting oreo cookie heaven and I ended up with flavorless cake. Since the cake is oreo cookie on top, I couldn't frost it, so it was just dry and boring. It received so many great reviews and I bake all the time. I have no idea what went wrong.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2012
Won't make this again. It just wasn't that good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Thornton, Colorado, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 56) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chocolate Chip Cookie Ice Cream Cake

Ice cream on a cookie crust topped with whipped cream, fudge, and cherries!

Chocolate Chip Cookie Dough Cupcake

See how to make the best cupcake ever!

Dannon Blueberry Coffee Cake

Satisfy your sweet tooth with this nutritious idea.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States