Oreo™ Cookie Bark Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2005
You may be a little put off by the fact that this recipe has only two ingredients. DON'T BE. I've made this recipe about a hundred times and every time it is the hit of the party. It's addictive, and you can't mess it up! I so enjoy answering the question, "How did you make this?" because no one can ever believe how easy it is. Here are two tips: First, instead of white chocolate chips, I use two packages of vanilla candy coating. It's a little sweeter and has this pleasing melt-in-your-mouth quality. And second, after you crush the oreos, put them in a colander to sift off the powdery part of the cookie crumbs. The powder will darken the white chocolate and it won't be as pretty. I wish I could give this recipe 50 stars!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
158 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2007
I love Oreo bark, but it is so expensive at the gourmet candy store in our town, so I decided to try this recipe. Perfect! Exactly what they sell! I used Baker's white chocolate and broke the oreos into 4 pieces each. No discoloration either. I did notice that after three days, even in an airtight container, the consistency of the bark (the white chocolate) changed and didn't taste as good- I'm guessing that's the limit unless you freeze it for a later occasion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mis7up
Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2010
I made several batches in the matter of a couple of days, this is a total 5 star recipe. My little neighbor kids called it "Cookies and Creme Candy" and all the kids just went to town. I mean to tell you when they all have their mouths full saying how good it is...and barely understanding them but showing thumbs up and hmm and awws and ohhhs.....it must be really really good. The last batch I did was with mini oreos and let me tell you this, if you don't want to make a huge batch that this recipe calls for...simple trick is 1 package of almond bark and 1 8oz package of Oreo Minis...and follow the recipe. Only note is, you don't have to break up the minis. They are already in bite size pieces. This is a fun recipe. Hands down.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mis7up

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Burkburnett, Texas, USA
Living In: Cave Junction, Oregon, USA
Photo by ridaen
Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2004
This recipe is great! And so easy. I used the mint and creme oreos and sprinkled the top with red sugar while the mixture was still warm. It's perfect for the holidays (or any other time of year) and tastes fabulous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ridaen

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2002
This was a great recipe, very easy to make. I used the new Reynolds Release foil instead of wax paper and it worked great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2002
This was a good recipe, but I found it hard (impossible really) to cut up so I tried breaking it up but that was pretty tough too and I ended up with big chunks instead of smaller bite size pieces. Make sure to crush the cookie up small enough so you can spread the mixture about 1/4 - 1/2 inch thick. That should make it easier to break/cut up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2002
Delicious, and dead easy. You can make it while half asleep! (Speaking from experience here, given my Christmas cooking marathons.) Don't crush up cookies too fine, though, or the overall colour will be a little weird.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Morena

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2000
My girls made this recipe without me helping at all. We ended up making this recipe 3 times during the holiday season. New note on 12/10/09: I have been making this for over 10 years now and have tried many different oreo types. Some change the color, but are still up to our standards. This year we made them with Trader Joe's peppermint oreos...OMG they are the best we have ever made. Just enough peppermint without changing the color!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Glenview, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2008
Incredibly simple and very addictive. I had to hide it so I wouldn't eat more than one piece, seeing as it's a gift for someone else. I think I might try this with vanilla bark and see if it tastes as good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by KatieMac
Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2007
I didn't follow this recipe at all-just melted hunks of white chocolate and mixed in oreo---I didn't crush them as much and the bark appears "whiter" but its delicious and easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KatieMac

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tecumseh, Michigan, USA
Living In: Grand Ledge, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 173) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Peppermint Bark

These 5-star Christmas candies are layered with chocolate and peppermint.

Cookie Balls

See the trick to making incredibly easy cookie balls.

Jellybean Bark

This easy Easter confection is like peppermint bark but with fruity jellybeans.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States