OREO Cookie Balls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2012
Made these with white chocolate instead of semi-sweet for dipping. They were delicious - everyone asked for the recipe. This recipe wil be used ver and over again in my family!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
113 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KIDDYCAT

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2012
These are really really yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
82 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2012
The cookie-cream cheese mixture is yummy but the dipping into chocolate part is difficult. I made a few dipped in chocolate and then the chocolate got too hot and thick and wouldn't melt correctly. The few that I was able to dip were Way too chocolaty I couldnt even taste the oreos. I decided to roll the rest in powdered sugar and that was so much easier and tasted much better!!!!Also the recipe only made about 28 one inch balls, so you may want to double it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
80 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2012
Love this recipe!!! I found that placing the balls in the freezer for about 20 minutes makes it much easier to dip this in the chocolate. This was a big hit with my family!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2013
I thoroughly crushed the package of regular Oreos by placing them in a large ziplock bag and using the heel of my hand. I then hand-stirred the cream cheese and Oreos until evenly mixed. I used a tablespoon to scoop out the globs of Oreo and placed them on a wax paper-covered baking sheet. After placing them in the fridge for 30 min (or freezer for less), I hand rolled them into a nice round ball. Also, using a double boiler is fantastic for melting chocolate. I added a small handful of chocolate chips at a time and stirred occasionally until it was all melted over low heat. I let the chocolate cool some, and then put a couple of Oreo balls in at a time and rolled them around in the chocolate bowl with my fingers for even coverage. Chilled them again in fridge for a few hours and they came out perfectly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2013
Very rich and delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chris

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Columbia, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2013
I consider myself a pretty good baker. I rarely have difficulty with a recipe. But let me tell you - these were hard to make. Definitely tested my patience. I tried what some reviewers had said and froze the dough for a little while before rolling it. Even after that the dough was hard to roll out. Dipping the balls? Forget it! Chocolate everywhere, and they looked like they were made by a 5 year old. When I finally had some ready that appeared edible (maybe 1/2 of the batch), I decided to try one of the "rejects" I had put to the side. After all that trouble, the cookie was WAY too sweet. The rest of the family felt the same way. Yuck! The difficult time I had making these combined with the overly sweet taste make this recipe OFF the Christmas cookie list for next year! Just thought you all needed an honest review and a 'heads up' to anyone thinking of trying them. I'm not sure why this recipe has such high ratings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SweetBasil
Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2012
Excellent - made dough entirely in food processor. I too used white chocolate to coat, and sprinkled with jimmies so they were pretty as well. I followed a suggestion to use a tooth pick to dip, and had to re-heat chocolate a few seconds half way through so it didn't get too thick. Very easy - So fudgey and yummy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SweetBasil

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Liberty Hill, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2012
really tastey but the chocolate dipping part is a pain. i just rolled them in powdered sugar
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2013
It tastes delicious. I modified, by adding a half a hand full of white sugar and a dash of vanilla into the cream cheese and oreo mixture. Then once I rolled the balls, I added toothpicks before putting into the freezer to help dip. Idea for Halloween, use the Halloween Oreos on the base, use white chocolate for dipping and its a ghost! Bon Appétit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 63) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cookie Balls

See the trick to making incredibly easy cookie balls.

Peanut Butter Cookie Pie

Allrecipes cook Kelly shares her Peanut Butter Cookie Pie recipe.

Best Big, Fat, Chewy Chocolate Chip Cookie

See how to make chewy, bakery-style cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States