OREO Cookie Balls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2014
Ok, so these taste amazing - what's there not to like, right? However, unless you are a baker extraordinaire you may find yourself thinking somewhere along the way (as I did)...."how on earth can a recipe with only three ingredients be this much trouble??!!" Seriously. And the time estimate of 1.75 hours is a joke. It took twice that easily but really longer considering the time needed to chill. And they looked rather unsightly. Fortunately, just about any dessert tastes great regardless of appearance but was hoping to present something pleasing to the eye since I was whipping them up for a cookie swap. Um, not exactly - they were funny little misshapen globs with clumps of white chocolate and holes and oh my. Not pretty. So yes, they are wonderful and I can see the potential but don't think you are embarking upon a simple baking venture!! Good luck!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2014
An easy, unbelievably delicious "cookie". A family Christmas favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2014
I make these every year and I need to keep making a large batch every year. This recipe is time consuming but simple. Notes I'd like to add: 1. Crush oreos, then put into a food processor. Add the cream cheese but make sure it's softed to a spreadable state. The quickest way to do this is by throwing it in a microwave in a bowl. Mix until the mixture is nice and black. 2. Chill this mix in the fridge or the freezer. If planning on working on these in the same day, the freezer works. 3. Ball up the mix. This stuff will be warm so put it in the freezer. 4. Coat with chocolate. Don't use almond bark or imitation, people can tell the difference. Dark chocolate is rich; milk chocolate will taste like a hot cocoa ball; white chocolate has a great contrast. Most people who don't care for white chocolate like this one the best. 5. For dipping chocolate: warm up water to 180 degrees. If you have an electric tea kettle it works pretty well. I don't have a double boiler so I find a large pot and fill it with 2" of water. Then, I have a metal mixing bowl to put the chocolate in. I don't take out all the balls from the freezer; instead, take out about 20 at a time. They'll keep form better when dipping. I use a teaspoon to toss chocolate on then place onto parachment paper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alicia Miller

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Danielle Scacchetti
Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2014
Love these!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2014
Very versatile! Swapped out Nutter Butter cookies for the Oreos, and dipped in melted peanut butter chips. Crushed gingersnaps, mixed with cream cheese, and coated with white chocolate sprinkled with cinnamon
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2014
Easy! Quick! nom nom nom! tried using the white oreos and white chocolate but it doesnt work as well as the original cookies and milk chocolate. Still taste great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2014
Giving this a four out of five because while they are super delicious & fun to make, the process of dipping them in the melted chocolate was difficult. I would suggest if you're a novice like me to buy those Baker's dipping chocolate cups instead. They're little microwaveable bowls of chocolate wafers & they are so much harder to screw up than melting chips on the stove!! Delicious recipe, but really disappointingly challenging to pull off without them looking a mess. Guess this is a recipe that takes practice to master.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2014
I used my food processor which made it really easy! I also used the smallest cookie scoop I could find which kept my hands clean and kept the size small enough to pop them in your mouth without getting overwhelmed by the richness. I put them in the fridge for 30 mins while I heated my chocolate coating (note the chocolate coating not chocolate chips) in my candy melts pot that keeps it at a good temp. Before dipping a rolled them in my hands to give a better shape. After dipping I used festive sprinkles! I tried different combinations too and loved them all. Mint oreos with dark coating, regular with white, mint with white... you name it! All in all they were a hit with family and friends, but I made sure I kept them small!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2014
These were so great!!!! A little challenging to make with the chocolate, but it was totally worth it. It tasted the best after being cold so I kept them in fridge for parties!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2014
These treats will make everybody happily smile. People beg me to bring the oreo balls with me when I visit them. Makes a wonderful gift also.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 81) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Cookie Balls

See the trick to making incredibly easy cookie balls.

Peanut Butter Cookie Pie

Allrecipes cook Kelly shares her Peanut Butter Cookie Pie recipe.

Kentucky Bourbon Balls

What's cooking in Delaware, Ohio? Jessica's tasty Kentucky Bourbon Balls.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States