OREO® and Fudge Ice Cream Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2008
I made a few changes to this wonderful recipe. First- I doubled the recipe and put only one layer of ice cream sandwiches in the bottom of a 9 x 13 dish. Next, I made the filling except doubled everything and added a little bit of milk to make the filling more creamy. I also added about a whole box of crushed oreos into the filling. I placed the filling on top of the sandwiches. Lastly, I topped the filling with a container of whipped topping and garnished with more crushed oreos.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
88 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sierra

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Marysville, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2007
Fantastic! I got 24 icecream sandwiches and did a double layer in a 9x13 pan. I also poured some extra hot fudge sauce over the top layer of sandwiches before frosting with the whipped topping. My 20 yr old daughter said it was the best dessert ever!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
50 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Diane P

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2008
This was easy and everyone loves it. This is the second time for me making this recipe. I double everything and make it in a disposable 9 by 13 pan. The elasticity of the disposable pan really helps the sandwiches to fit the way you want them to. I used extra Oreos by adding a layer of them to the bottom of the 'cake' and a sprinkle of them on top of the cool whip 'frosting'. I also added a little milk to the pudding mixture to thin it out a bit while mixing... it gets way to thick otherwise and is difficult to mix and spread. The idea of adding a layer of raspberry or something of the like is fantastic (see review below) and I think I will try that next time. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Miz

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Erie, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2008
After my husband's first bite he said "save this recipe". My family fought over the leftovers the next day. I made this for a birthday dinner dessert and I had concerns about it being enough for 8 people because it is about the size of a loaf pan. It is very rich so you do not eat a huge slice, we actually had some left over. It was very quick to assemble which is a huge bonus.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Gladwin, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2007
I have made this twice. Once with mint chocolate chip ice cream sandwiches and chocolate chip cookies. Another time I made it with vanilla ice cream sandwiches and mint oreos. Both delicious! Not a lot of work for an amazing ice cream cake (:
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by melissapie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Karen
Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2007
Great and easy dessert. Change the flavors by changing to different flavor sandwiches. Next time I make it though I will have a large tub (or 2 8ozs tubs) because there just wasn't enough to completely "frost" it the way I like. I may also try the neapolitan sandwiches and maybe sliced strawberry layer. Yum!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karen

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Oxford, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Collierville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2007
I got this recipe in the KRAFT magazine and had all the ingredients, so I decided to try it. This was so good it tasted just like a real ice cream cake. I did not change one thing about this and it turned out great. Won't be wasting money on real ice cream cakes now.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by swimminash

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2008
Very yummy... I added about 5 more oreos...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookingGirl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New Castle, Delaware, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2007
This was really good - not a DQ cake by any means, but still very tasty. I used a 9X13 pan. 18 ice cream sandwiches, double layered (Some broken into halves - to fit the pan). Almost a full pound package of Oreo's for the fudge cookie crunch. (Best part!!!) I will probably make this again - it just wasn't the right thing for the husband's thirtieth birthday.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2007
Super easy and quick to make. Great eye appeal. I used mint Oreo cookies. I sprinkled a few Oreo chunks on top and drizzled with fudge sauce before serving. Very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 173) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States