Orangey Turkey Legs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2010
I substituted orange marmalade and orange juice instead of mandarin oranges to increase the orange flavor. Worked like a charm. Legs were flavorful and juicy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Miranda

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2006
I did these in my crockpot and didn't see the need to add any oil. Although the legs were very tender and surprisingly, they did brown in the crockpot, there was not a big orange flavor. I subbed orange juice for all of the oil and whipped everything up in the food processor. When I tasted it, there was not much orange flavor, very bland. I added 3 cloves of crushed garlic to the marinade. The meat was tender but that's about it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TUNISIANSWIFE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: King Ferry, New York, USA
Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2004
This was okay. I was disappointed because there was not a lot of flavor to the turkey even with marinating and basting. I would probably not make again. Sorry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LESLEYfromWI
Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2012
WOW!!! We had these using large chicken legs. Used hand held blender to mix marinade. Baked them in uncovered stage for 90 mins. They looked delicious and they were very good. Give them a try you won't miss on this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SUNCITYMEG

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Woonsocket, Rhode Island, USA
Living In: Bluffton, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2007
We really enjoyed this recipe. I followes it exactly. When the legs were served, I made sure everyone also added the wonderful sauce to their dish for dipping!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KELLEYBEE

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2012
As I didn't have any mandarin oranges on hand, i used the OJ and marmalade substitute, as others recommended. As for the reviews that claim it was "bland", these are also the ones that left out the oil!! of course it was bland!! as with ANY marinade, it MUST have some form of fat... the fat is what carries the FLAVOR! you mustn't change a recipe, then claim the recipe is no good. Mine came out spectacularly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SarahLaGuera

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Venice, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2008
good but would have liked to taste more of the orange flavor in meat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2012
This recipe was very good. Instead of using turkey, like the recipe calls for, I used chicken legs, and they tasted wonderful. The meat was very juicy, tender and fell apart very nicely. No fighting to cut this one! I, following other reviews, added some orange juice to the recipe, so the orange flavor resounded a little better. I believe that adding extract of orange would make the taste more prominent. The only reason I did not give this five stars is because the orange flavor did lack a little. I would highly suggest adding lots more orange to it. However, even though the orange lacked a little, the family all had second helpings and loved the recipe. This is well worth the frequent basting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2010
I was looking for a way to use up some turkey legs that I'd bought on a whim. I was really excited about this recipe. I was looking forward to it, but I really feel like it fell flat. I read some of the other reviewers recipes where they stated that the orange flavour wasn't terribly obvious. To try and circumvent this, I added some apricot/mandarin jam. Even with this addition... it was still lacklustre. The other reviewers were right, though. The meat was very moist. I liked that about this recipe. I think that the natural flavors of the dark turkey meat really overpowered the delicacy of the mandarins. I think that this marinade would be more appropriate with chicken, or even white turkey meat. I may try again with this change, as the marinade is quite good, but chances are, I will not make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ASHLEY40

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2014
I didn't get to blend it nor marinate the meat (which was chicken drumsticks), but I like the taste of the chicken as well as the sauce left from baking the chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by merlion

Cooking Level: Beginning


Displaying results 1-10 (of 11) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Turkey and Veggie Alfredo Pot Pie

See how to turn leftovers into a super-simple pot pie.

How to Prep a Turkey

See how to thaw, brine, and roast a super-moist Thanksgiving turkey.

How to Thaw a Turkey

Watch the correct, safe ways to thaw your frozen turkey.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States