Oranged Cranberry Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2007
Made this for thanksgiving and 7 navy boys all loved it! great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by vampyra1

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2007
I thoroughly enjoyed this recipe. Although it is a personal peeve of mine when people alter the recipe and then review it, I did only have one cinnamon stick and it seemed to be perfect for my tastes. I took the leftover sauce and brushed it on grilled chicken breasts the last 5 minutes of cook time. It made a crunchy, delicious glaze for chicken! We loved it at our house!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2007
This was FABULOUS!! I added 1 cup extra of brown sugar (Dark Brown Sugar), and 1 tablespoon of ground cinnamon, and then used 4 tablespoons of corstarch mixed with 5 tablespoons of water, (this is after I simmered the sauce for an hour) brought it up to a boil again and then simmered for another 15 minutes and chilled overnight. The consistancy was thicker and more jelly like, which is what my family is used to. GREAT RECIPE!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Chattanooga, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2007
Added red wine vice water, would use about half of each next time. Overall, a bit too sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Matt
Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2007
i did this recipe once before but didnt rate/review it. i love this recipe - it is a good introduction for a non-cranberry sauce lover. update: i decided to make this again for thanksgiving 2008. this time i used the zest of 1 orange and the juice of 1 orange instead of oj. i also put 3/4 c. white and 3/4 c. brown sugar. i added only 2/3 c. water and i think it this helped in the making the consistency a little thicker. absolutely delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dettie

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Westerly, Rhode Island, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2007
I have made this cranberry sauce for several years at my house...it is the BEST! All my guests love the taste.I usually cook it for 2 hrs. It's so easy and it makes the house smell good too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2007
This sauce I thought it would turn out great. It was a little tart for my liking, but made a beautiful presentation and smelled absolutely wonderful when it was cooking. I even added a little more sugar, I am one of those that likes the can stuff.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brandy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lewisville, Texas, USA
Living In: Argyle, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2007
I thought this was absolutely fantastic! The perfect balance of tart and sweet. Both the orange and cinnamon flavors are subtle, yet they change this from just plain cranberry sauce into something special.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2007
This delicious sauce has become our family tradition at Thanksgiving and Christmas. The first two times I made it I reduced it by half thinking it would be too much sauce. Since then I've always made the full recipe. By the second day it's entirely gone and someone is asking me to make more. I'm not sure what it is, the cinnamon, the o.j. but it's really wonderful. Thanks Barbara for sharing this gem!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ashtabula, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2007
I am a fan of Cranberry sauces, but this one is so good even my cranberry hating husband LOOOVES it.. I have made this for the past 4 or 5 years and everyone loved it. Some people didn't even want to try it, I forced them, THEY LOVED it and took 2nds and 3rds :) Thank you for sharing this!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 88) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Ginger Pear Cranberry Sauce

This incredibly flavorful cranberry sauce stars candied ginger and fresh pear.

Tangerine Cherry Cranberry Sauce

See how to make a classic holiday cranberry sauce.

Cranberry Sauce

Make this easy, crowd-pleasing cranberry sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States